Jammin' Tarheel Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this chili! I leave out the celery, mushrooms, and beer. But I add 2 bell peppers (various colors) and a few jalapeno peppers. I also increase the seasonings and use a whole bunch of garlic. It is delicious. I have made it with ground beef, ground turkey, and also the soy you can get in the frozen food section that looks like browned ground beef. Since I don't add beer I usually add some water until it gets the consistency that I like. I think soups taste better after they sit, so I make this the day before and then put the whole pot in the refrigerator. A couple hours before dinner I sit the pot back on the stove on low. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This turned out really good and spicier than I thought, which is fine with me. My only suggestion when preparing this chili is to serve it the next day after you make it. It's so much better after it sits for a while. I wasn't really impressed with it when it was fresh, but fell in love with it the next day. For mushroom lovers like me, it could stand to have some more shrooms in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Lehr

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great recipe! The only things I changed were using stew meat instead of ground and left out the mushrooms. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Eiman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
We were not thrilled. I added some salsa to give it more flavor, but that didn't work either. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My Husband loves Chili; I picked this recipe to make for him. He loved it. I think I will leave the mushrooms out next time. Try it over rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I have made this chili several times, follow the recipe exactly and its a big big hit!!! Everyone who tries it just LOVES it....they think I'm a chili hero....I just let them think that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good taste but it's just missing a litte something. In error I omitted the worshershire sause. Is this the little something? But it was still very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very good I left out the mushrooms. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was my first time ever making chili....it was worth it! It is different than the one my dad makes, but definitely good. I cut some of the spices in half since we are not a spicy family, and it still had a little heat, but not enough to be too hot. The only thing I did different was to brown the meat, onions, garlic and celery first together and then threw it along with everything else into a crock pot. I also omitted the mushrooms since we don't eat them. I made this on a chilly day along with the Apple Crisp II from this site...way to warm up the day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We loved this recipe. I made as the recipe stated, served over white rice, sprinkled cheese on top of chili. Simmered three hours as recommended, perfect! I will definitely include this in my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States