Jammin Good Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These turned out great. Just took a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, and if you want to you can add a little vanilla, something about it makes it better :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy
Home Town: Dumont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
very good. i used butter flavor shortening and strawberry preserves. buttery flavor..so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanif

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made these in my Foods class, not tasty. but thats probably my fault?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paigey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made these late last night-as I was patting the dough into the pan I realized I forgot the egg! But I went ahead anyway-I used fig jam, about 14 oz. & baked for 35 minutes. hubby loved them, took some to work- they disappered quickly. Also took some to a neighbor & they got a thumbs up there also. Tomorrow, the last of them will be the Sat night dessert to our weekly wii get-together. They are crumbly so I cut them into very small bite-size pieces, to eliminate that problem & it sure makes them go further. So many variations could be made w/this-can't wait to make some more & use a different filling. Oh, & I did sprinkle confectioner's sugar over after they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These were very easy to make but they just didn't "hit it off" with me. My DD liked them. I probably will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I used about 16 ounces jam, and put chopped almonds on top. I had no problem removing them from the pan. The nuts browned fast, and I was worried it was undercooked, but it wasn't. I'm guessing those that had difficulty with the bars crumbling overcooked them. This is fast and easy for potlucks - not my personal favorite, since I'm not big on sugary things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very, very good bar! 4-1/2 stars, since they're delicious, but didn't rock our world or make us crave them. I made easy even easier by combining all ingredients in the food processor. A few pulses and you're done! Good, short texture to the cookie part. Used 1/3 butter and 2/3 margarine in order to give a little more flavor. I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 and made in two 9" square pans, one with raspberry and one with strawberry. Both are tasty. Because eggs don't divide well, I couldn't use 1-1/2 eggs. I used 2 eggs and the dough wasn't crumbly at all. I flattened pieces to lay on top. Both varieties were done at 30 minutes. Sprinkled with powdered sugar for a pretty finish. Note: These bars can be made with fresh berries, too. See Berry Crumb Bars on this website, which is almost identical (with the exception of replacing preserves with fresh fruit.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I found this recipe hard to work with. It was very crumbly and the bars were difficult to cut without falling apart. It still tasted amazing though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States