Jammin Good Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These are fantastic. I have made them probably 4 times already and just realized I hadn't rated them yet. I usually do half white and half whole wheat flour and I add a bit of ground flax seed too. I have done strawberry and raspberry. But our favorite was using my homemade Wild Maine Blueberry freezer jam. Oh So Good! They do crumble a bit at first but if they cool all the way they hold together just fine. I am going to have to try putting nuts in it too. I bet that's a great addition. Thank you wwgirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Excellent bar cookies. Very easy to make. Brought these to a party and they went fast. Crumbly and smooth at the same time. I also made a batch with apricot preserves and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made these in my Foods class, not tasty. but thats probably my fault?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paigey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very, very good bar! 4-1/2 stars, since they're delicious, but didn't rock our world or make us crave them. I made easy even easier by combining all ingredients in the food processor. A few pulses and you're done! Good, short texture to the cookie part. Used 1/3 butter and 2/3 margarine in order to give a little more flavor. I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 and made in two 9" square pans, one with raspberry and one with strawberry. Both are tasty. Because eggs don't divide well, I couldn't use 1-1/2 eggs. I used 2 eggs and the dough wasn't crumbly at all. I flattened pieces to lay on top. Both varieties were done at 30 minutes. Sprinkled with powdered sugar for a pretty finish. Note: These bars can be made with fresh berries, too. See Berry Crumb Bars on this website, which is almost identical (with the exception of replacing preserves with fresh fruit.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
These are very sweet and delicate. I only had half a jar of seedless raspberries so I added the only thing I had left in the fridge...grape jelly (that could explain the sweetness)!!! There are crumbly and at first I didn't think they would bake up very well. Make sure you let the bars cool completely before trying to cut since they do crumble easily. However, we couldn't stop eating them!!! I would like to try these with other jam and jelly fillings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
These turned out great. Just took a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These were good and very easy to make. I used sugar-free strawberry jelly (to get that bottle out of my fridge already) and added a handful of chopped pecans to the top layer before baking. I won't use sugar-free in the future and I'll probably add a little more than the recipe calls for since it was a very thin layer. I also lined my 9X13 pan with wax paper and sprayed with non-stick spray. It made it a little easier to get the bars out of the pan without breaking them. They are very crumbly and delicate and worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
i had to substitute butter for the shortening and they ended up dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
they were really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States