Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I am seventy years old and this is absolutly the best Beef Stew I have ever tasted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I used a little olive oil to brown the meat/flour mixture. I also added a pint of tomato juice. Baby carrots worked well, cut them in half, for potatoes I used about 6 good sized peeled and chunked them up. I also only used a scant 1/4 cup of reg grape jelly, I"m glad I didn't put the 1/2 cup as stated in recipe I think would have ruined it making it too sweet for us. I also added 4 big stalks of chopped celery. Delicious stew (actually my first attempt) I will use this recipe from here on in! We had plenty of left over's and ate over rice one last time. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at beef stew. I chose this recipe since I like sweet/savory combinations and I wasn't disappointed. This was delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This beef stew is AWESOME! The only variations to the recipe were 1) I put the flour and pepper in a plastic bag and shook the meat up in the bag to evenly coat it and 2) I only used 1/4 cup jam after reading the other reviews. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was the best beef stew I've ever had. The only changes I made was to add three celery stalks chopped, one minced clove of garlic, and I used beef broth instead of water. I did not add the jelly. I also added about 2 extra tablespoons of flour right before adding the potatoes to thicken it up a bit. It was literally amazing and this recipe will be made again and again by me!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Best beef stew that I have ever made. I cooked it in a crock pot. I used 1/4 cup grape jelly but everything else was the same. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family & I loved this recipe! I used 1/4 cup of jelly like the other reviewers suggested & it was the great! My husband wouldn't even share the leftovers he took them to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
this was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was EXCELLENT! I've made stew for years much like this but minus the grape jam and now I will no longer make it my old way! My entire family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYMAMIX5
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
WOW! Very delicious! I've had meatballs made with a sauce of grape jam and ketchup, so I kind of knew what to expect because those were wonderful. This was amazing, and really great for a change from the ol' onion soup mix. I'm inspired to also try it with tomato soup mix and curry next time just because I think it would be good. Maybe even trade the grape jelly for cranberry sauce in the fall. Yummo!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States