Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
An excellent stew. I took this to a church pot luck and got mad reviews.everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. i thought the jam was a bit odd as an ingredient but it turned out delicious. i had a soccer gameat the same time that night so I didn't get anything but broth. but from that i felt it deserved a 5 star rating. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good. Followed the recipe with two changes: I didn't have the canned tomatoes, so I used 2 cups of leftover chunky spaghetti sauce that had onions and garlic in it that I needed to use up (this works amazingly well) and 2 tbsp of the jam instead of the full 1/4 cup (as per other reviews). It was really good and dh kept raving over how good it was. I didn't notice any grape jam flavor, it really does add something similar to wine (IMO). Made it in the crockpot and will do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a good basic beef stew recipe. I browned the beef in olive oil first,after coating it in flour and I added a chopped celery stick or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used it as a starting base for my own beef stew. I omitted the bay leaves, added some celery, extra carrots, used green beans instead of peas, and added small concha noodles - an old family trick. I added a lipton beefy noodle pkg with some extra water (since I put extra veggies & noodles). It was AMAZING! GREAT RECIPE! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chren22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
oh my word...unbelievably good..though, i did add both a can of broth, and an additional can of water, though would have added an additional can of broth if I had it available. I followed others and added chopped celery, and reduced the amount of jelly to about 1/4 cup(though may go to the full 1/2 since it wasn't an obvious taste)..and used italian stewed tomatoes since that is what I had on hand..this was unbelievably good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband and 3 young kids who aren't thrilled about beef stew. They liked this the best of any I've tried. I did add celery as others suggested and used a pint of home canned tomatoes. I would not recommend putting in the potatoes until the last 3-4 hours, or they would be mush. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and everything was very tender. I added a bit more salt and pepper and only 1/3 cup jam. Really good recipe-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious!!!!!! I can't wait to make this for my family during the holidays when I go home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is as good as it gets. I made some changes... nothing major. Very good stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This stew is delicious! I am eating it as we speak. I did add celery but did not use parsley (I thought I had some, but didn't). I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great stew - I'm going to try celery in it next time. My kids are already protesting this alteration. The jam seems odd at first, but think of the grape jelly as a touch of wine and sugar - the sugar helps tone down the acidity of the tomatoes, and the grape flavor is like what wine might add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States