Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was an awesome Beef Stew , I am not a big stew person but my spouse is, I made this last year and he said it was the best I have ever made. I even went back for seconds. The grape jam sounded strange at first but it made the gravy of the stew a wonderful consistency and it was very Yummy!!! Open your mind to trying the jam it really makes this recipe stand out from the rest. If you consider grape jam being used in Swedish meatballs, in many recipes it makes sense. I am reviewing this almost a year later when I came to reprint this recipe to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Alsid Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
What a nice tender stew! The jam works great and I preferred this to other stews that call for a red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My family and I love this recipe. We leave out the jam but it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Von Goth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
the meat was so tender and really tastes good but the sauce and such just wasn't pleasent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Too sweet. We didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Wow. this recipe is fantastic. I did cut back a little bit on the jam...but it is the jam that makes this recipe so good. I used a little more than a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
very good recipe. Didn't make any changes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
this was my first time making beef stew and it was great!! used leftover flank steak (cubed) from a few nights ago, skipped the jam only beacuse i did not have any on hand, and added an extra TBS of worceshire because my boyfriend is a huge fan. very tasty- thickens well with cornmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k1mposs1ble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made a few modifications by adding celery, only using 1/4 cup of jelly and I added just a hint of all purpose seasoning. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luvs2Cook4U2
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this last night and it was unbelievable how delicious it was! I first thought "how weird to put grape jam in" then I thought again, well in most good beef stews you add a good red wine so then it made sense. I couldn't even tell the jam was in it.. not that that matters to me. It was soooo good. I had a bowl last night when it finished simmering and had another bowl for dinner tonight. It really is even better the next day! It's so good and I would recommend it to anyone! I did add some frozen vegetables to mine the last 15 minutes of simmering. It came out perfect! Of course, my boyfriend who isn't a picky eater by any means, loved it. Squenched his nose up when I told him I was adding jam to it, but then he said "baby whatever you make I will eat" He's ate more of it than I have! Proof's in the pudding ( or in this case, stew) It's AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States