Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This beef stew is AWESOME! The only variations to the recipe were 1) I put the flour and pepper in a plastic bag and shook the meat up in the bag to evenly coat it and 2) I only used 1/4 cup jam after reading the other reviews. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at beef stew. I chose this recipe since I like sweet/savory combinations and I wasn't disappointed. This was delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was the best beef stew I've ever had. The only changes I made was to add three celery stalks chopped, one minced clove of garlic, and I used beef broth instead of water. I did not add the jelly. I also added about 2 extra tablespoons of flour right before adding the potatoes to thicken it up a bit. It was literally amazing and this recipe will be made again and again by me!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I used a little olive oil to brown the meat/flour mixture. I also added a pint of tomato juice. Baby carrots worked well, cut them in half, for potatoes I used about 6 good sized peeled and chunked them up. I also only used a scant 1/4 cup of reg grape jelly, I"m glad I didn't put the 1/2 cup as stated in recipe I think would have ruined it making it too sweet for us. I also added 4 big stalks of chopped celery. Delicious stew (actually my first attempt) I will use this recipe from here on in! We had plenty of left over's and ate over rice one last time. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
this was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
WOW! Very delicious! I've had meatballs made with a sauce of grape jam and ketchup, so I kind of knew what to expect because those were wonderful. This was amazing, and really great for a change from the ol' onion soup mix. I'm inspired to also try it with tomato soup mix and curry next time just because I think it would be good. Maybe even trade the grape jelly for cranberry sauce in the fall. Yummo!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Best beef stew that I have ever made. I cooked it in a crock pot. I used 1/4 cup grape jelly but everything else was the same. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family & I loved this recipe! I used 1/4 cup of jelly like the other reviewers suggested & it was the great! My husband wouldn't even share the leftovers he took them to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was EXCELLENT! I've made stew for years much like this but minus the grape jam and now I will no longer make it my old way! My entire family loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYMAMIX5
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I am seventy years old and this is absolutly the best Beef Stew I have ever tasted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States