Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
My family loved this stew. I used 8oz vegetable broth in place of the beef broth, and "sugar free" grape jam. I omitted the fresh parsley and I added frozen peas and corn. The sweetness from the jam was pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is the ONLY way I will ever make beef stew in the future ! I've been making stew for well over 40 years and it has never turned out as tasty as this ! I followed the recipe exactly.... may reduce the jelly to 1/4 cup next time. Excellent recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was an interesting stew! I enjoyed it but I am still on the fence about the grape jelly! I only used half the portion the recipe called for and when i opened the lid of my slow cooker, i instantly smelled the jelly. I can't imagine using any more than i did, but lie i said i enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Funny thing, I actually never made beef stew before and saw this recipe and the jam ingredient intrigued me. Sooo I used the sugar free jam and extra lean stew beef and thought it was fantastic! My boyfriend (picky eater) LOVED it. Brought some over to mom and she raved. I did not think the jam was overpowering at all, but did add a nice flavor and I used the amount listed in the recipe. I actually cooked it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe stated for the potatoes to be tender. I will definitely make it again, maybe adding some frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at beef stew. I chose this recipe since I like sweet/savory combinations and I wasn't disappointed. This was delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This beef stew is AWESOME! The only variations to the recipe were 1) I put the flour and pepper in a plastic bag and shook the meat up in the bag to evenly coat it and 2) I only used 1/4 cup jam after reading the other reviews. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was the best beef stew I've ever had. The only changes I made was to add three celery stalks chopped, one minced clove of garlic, and I used beef broth instead of water. I did not add the jelly. I also added about 2 extra tablespoons of flour right before adding the potatoes to thicken it up a bit. It was literally amazing and this recipe will be made again and again by me!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used this recipe as a starting point for my own beef stew. It turned out great. I did leave out the grape jelly and added frozen veggies instead. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and the taste was just to bland for us. To much salt and pepper had to be added to perk up the taste. I wont be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I used a little olive oil to brown the meat/flour mixture. I also added a pint of tomato juice. Baby carrots worked well, cut them in half, for potatoes I used about 6 good sized peeled and chunked them up. I also only used a scant 1/4 cup of reg grape jelly, I"m glad I didn't put the 1/2 cup as stated in recipe I think would have ruined it making it too sweet for us. I also added 4 big stalks of chopped celery. Delicious stew (actually my first attempt) I will use this recipe from here on in! We had plenty of left over's and ate over rice one last time. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States