Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a good basic beef stew recipe. I browned the beef in olive oil first,after coating it in flour and I added a chopped celery stick or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used it as a starting base for my own beef stew. I omitted the bay leaves, added some celery, extra carrots, used green beans instead of peas, and added small concha noodles - an old family trick. I added a lipton beefy noodle pkg with some extra water (since I put extra veggies & noodles). It was AMAZING! GREAT RECIPE! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chren22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
oh my word...unbelievably good..though, i did add both a can of broth, and an additional can of water, though would have added an additional can of broth if I had it available. I followed others and added chopped celery, and reduced the amount of jelly to about 1/4 cup(though may go to the full 1/2 since it wasn't an obvious taste)..and used italian stewed tomatoes since that is what I had on hand..this was unbelievably good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband and 3 young kids who aren't thrilled about beef stew. They liked this the best of any I've tried. I did add celery as others suggested and used a pint of home canned tomatoes. I would not recommend putting in the potatoes until the last 3-4 hours, or they would be mush. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and everything was very tender. I added a bit more salt and pepper and only 1/3 cup jam. Really good recipe-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious!!!!!! I can't wait to make this for my family during the holidays when I go home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is as good as it gets. I made some changes... nothing major. Very good stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This stew is delicious! I am eating it as we speak. I did add celery but did not use parsley (I thought I had some, but didn't). I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great stew - I'm going to try celery in it next time. My kids are already protesting this alteration. The jam seems odd at first, but think of the grape jelly as a touch of wine and sugar - the sugar helps tone down the acidity of the tomatoes, and the grape flavor is like what wine might add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I am seventy years old and this is absolutly the best Beef Stew I have ever tasted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
WOW! Very delicious! I've had meatballs made with a sauce of grape jam and ketchup, so I kind of knew what to expect because those were wonderful. This was amazing, and really great for a change from the ol' onion soup mix. I'm inspired to also try it with tomato soup mix and curry next time just because I think it would be good. Maybe even trade the grape jelly for cranberry sauce in the fall. Yummo!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States