Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this for the family tonite & they raved about the stew. I must admit it did seem odd putting grape jam in the stew but after reading the reviews I knew I had to try it. It is definitely a keeper recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was an awesome Beef Stew , I am not a big stew person but my spouse is, I made this last year and he said it was the best I have ever made. I even went back for seconds. The grape jam sounded strange at first but it made the gravy of the stew a wonderful consistency and it was very Yummy!!! Open your mind to trying the jam it really makes this recipe stand out from the rest. If you consider grape jam being used in Swedish meatballs, in many recipes it makes sense. I am reviewing this almost a year later when I came to reprint this recipe to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Alsid Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
What a nice tender stew! The jam works great and I preferred this to other stews that call for a red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My family and I love this recipe. We leave out the jam but it's still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Von Goth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
the meat was so tender and really tastes good but the sauce and such just wasn't pleasent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Too sweet. We didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Wow. this recipe is fantastic. I did cut back a little bit on the jam...but it is the jam that makes this recipe so good. I used a little more than a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
very good recipe. Didn't make any changes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
this was my first time making beef stew and it was great!! used leftover flank steak (cubed) from a few nights ago, skipped the jam only beacuse i did not have any on hand, and added an extra TBS of worceshire because my boyfriend is a huge fan. very tasty- thickens well with cornmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k1mposs1ble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made a few modifications by adding celery, only using 1/4 cup of jelly and I added just a hint of all purpose seasoning. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States