Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good. Followed the recipe with two changes: I didn't have the canned tomatoes, so I used 2 cups of leftover chunky spaghetti sauce that had onions and garlic in it that I needed to use up (this works amazingly well) and 2 tbsp of the jam instead of the full 1/4 cup (as per other reviews). It was really good and dh kept raving over how good it was. I didn't notice any grape jam flavor, it really does add something similar to wine (IMO). Made it in the crockpot and will do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is a good basic beef stew recipe. I browned the beef in olive oil first,after coating it in flour and I added a chopped celery stick or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used it as a starting base for my own beef stew. I omitted the bay leaves, added some celery, extra carrots, used green beans instead of peas, and added small concha noodles - an old family trick. I added a lipton beefy noodle pkg with some extra water (since I put extra veggies & noodles). It was AMAZING! GREAT RECIPE! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chren22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
oh my word...unbelievably good..though, i did add both a can of broth, and an additional can of water, though would have added an additional can of broth if I had it available. I followed others and added chopped celery, and reduced the amount of jelly to about 1/4 cup(though may go to the full 1/2 since it wasn't an obvious taste)..and used italian stewed tomatoes since that is what I had on hand..this was unbelievably good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this for my husband and 3 young kids who aren't thrilled about beef stew. They liked this the best of any I've tried. I did add celery as others suggested and used a pint of home canned tomatoes. I would not recommend putting in the potatoes until the last 3-4 hours, or they would be mush. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and everything was very tender. I added a bit more salt and pepper and only 1/3 cup jam. Really good recipe-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious!!!!!! I can't wait to make this for my family during the holidays when I go home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is as good as it gets. I made some changes... nothing major. Very good stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This stew is delicious! I am eating it as we speak. I did add celery but did not use parsley (I thought I had some, but didn't). I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great stew - I'm going to try celery in it next time. My kids are already protesting this alteration. The jam seems odd at first, but think of the grape jelly as a touch of wine and sugar - the sugar helps tone down the acidity of the tomatoes, and the grape flavor is like what wine might add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I am seventy years old and this is absolutly the best Beef Stew I have ever tasted. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States