Jammin' Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My family loved it even my kids who don't like trying new things. I didn't add the jam but it was still just great. I've made it twice & always the slow cooker method. I recommend others to try it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was really good, I will make this again! The only changes made were that I added some celery, and I only used 1 bay leaf that I took out after about 4 hours! Otherwise I followed the recipe above exactly as above!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Loved this recipe! Smells and taste delicious!! Everyone loved it! No left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My husband made this for dinner and it looked and smelled great. I didn't see him cooking [I was at work] so I sat down to eat without any idea of what was in the stew or where he got the recipe. I began to eat and by the second bite I asked him "Did this recipe call for sugar?" and he responded "No". I began to wonder if it was the carrots making it sweet and then asked him where he got the recipe. He finally fessed up and said "It was grape jam". HUH? WHAT? "Grape Jam. In the Beef Stew". Well, it's an odd addition to beef stew and - IMO - an addition that is totally without merit. The gravy looked beautiful - like silk - but was too sweet. Husband admits he's not sure he likes it, either. It's edible but leaves a strange sweet-grapey-beefy taste in your mouth. We won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I love this recipe. When I saw the grape jam in this I was skeptical but gave it a try. I use either sugar free grape or blackberry jam. I think the jam adds just a really good hint of flavor. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and a bit more beef broth. My sister who isn't crazy over beef stew loved it. This is the only beef stew I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tania
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious taste. Don't worry about the jam. It adds to it not harms it. I used a sugar free grape jam because for some odd reason the store didn't carry Smucker's Reduced. Took a gamble and it was still great. I added beans and corn. Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made a couple of changes only because I wanted to use veggies I already had, adding a chopped bell pepper, button mushrooms, celery and instead of canned tomatoes used fresh tomatoes from my garden. Added some fresh thyme and summer savory from my garden, as ell. I did not have grape jam but instead used a homemade cherry butter. Made herb and cheddar biscuits to complete the meal. Raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I was looking for a stew recipe that I could make gluten, soy, corn and dairy free because my epileptic daughter is on the GARD diet. That's hard to do with all of the misc. ingredients in beef stock and bouillon. This one worked! I was afraid to sub water in other recipes, but since this one said so, I went ahead and did it. Made it in the slow cooker with Hodgen's Mill all purpose gluten free flour subbed in, and omitted the jam (yes, I know that was the whole point of this recipe...sorry Smucker's). Oh, and I couldn't use the Worcestershire sauce because of the soy. I was nervous it would be bland and that the water wasn't enough liquid but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this for dinner and thought it was fairly good but nothing outstanding. I couldn't really taste or notice the grape jam which was disappointing because i bought it specifically for this recipe. I skipped using potatoes and i used frozen carrots, and next time i would do without the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
this got rave reviews from a wide variety of people and taste preferences. It's now one of my standard "go to" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States