Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
O.M.G. Seriously the *best* corn on the cob we have ever had! Sugar & lemon juice? Insane! But it worked beautifully! I am somewhat of a corn snob (and would personally be perfectly content eatting it virtually raw from the stalk) so I was somewhat hesitant and made two pots - one just in boiling water, the other as you directed in your recipe. The subtle sweetness of the sugar meshed with the tangy lemon juice was superb. Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious, I did add a little milk to the water which I always do anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Outstanding! From now on, this is how I will be making corn on the cob... you can't taste the lemon juice or the sugar, but it adds a subtle sweetness and the corn doesn't get overcooked and chewy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Thank you Jamie! This helpful hint made it so easy. Perfect corn on the cob! Not mushy, very firm just like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
SUMMER! I grew up in NW PA on a Dairy Farm where we grew a lot of COB; I've always cooked it the same way salted boiling water, add the corn, cover and remove from heat.i don't know what compelled me to check out ideas but I found 2 yours with lemon juice and sugar and another with vinegar and sugar..used 2 pots and lemon juice won hands down. The vinegar and sugar was better than my original method but after 30 years will ever use anything but sugar and lemon juice again. The leftover corn that I butter and wrap for easy microwave reheating stayed crisper and didn't have the mushy spots. Thanks for a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Sweet and so easy...try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I couldn't tell a difference from just boiling the corn in water as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it. Thank you Jamie. I like easy recipes that taste good and don't require a lot of ingredients or fuss. This was fabulous. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
So deliciously sweet and easy to make! Definitely making corn on the cob this way from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States