Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made as stated this is only a 2 or 3 star soup. But I managed to make it into a 4 star before my husband came home. I did tweak this recipe but only after tasting it and it didn't taste like minestrone, more like a bland tomato soup with onion. I noticed as it simmered that there wasn't going to be much liquid so I added 1 cup more broth and kept adding water as I saw fit (probably 2 more cups). Had to use a lot of salt as it lacked flavor and I am not a good enough cook to know how to use herbs or spices to add flavor to food. Way to many veggies. Love them but way way to many. I'll cut it down to half next time I try this (if I do). So finally it was done, and it was just alright, but it still lacked something. So I added lime to my dish (which I was wary of doing because I didn't know how good it would go with the Parmesan but it worked out). Ate two bowls. Husband ate without the lime and said it was ok for being my first time attempting this soup but he did eat another bowl a few hours later. Not sure if the servings are off or if it was the 3 extra cups of liquid added, but after 5 bowls of soup eaten, I still have over half the pot full. So if you live near me and want to try this soup, please come by for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velazquez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great base to start with. Here are my tweaks. 4 cups of veggie broth instead of the water. 1/4 cup tomato paste that I sauteed in with the veggies. 2 cans tomato sauce. 2 cups carrots, 2 cans beans(drained/rinsed), 2 cups of frozen fresh green beans, 3/4 cup of Cabernet Sauvignon, I also used dried basil and oregano and used about 2.5T-ish of each. I used a 1.5 cups of dried pasta that I cooked separately, drained then dumped directly into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is a great base soup recipe. I emptied my refrigerator of any vegetables that needed to be eaten soon, including some tomatoes (in place of some of the tomato sauce), a sweet potato, cabbage and frozen spinach. I used 5 cups of frozen turkey broth that I had left over from making turkey carcass soup after Thanksgiving, no water. I used dried herbs as I did not have fresh. I also added a 1/2 pound of browned Italian sausage. The broth is incredibly flavourful. It made a lot of soup and I will be enjoying this great soup all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've made this several times now and it's fantastic! I make this as directed, but I don't add the wine. Also I only use fresh herbs when available, dried work just as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made some minor changes (more chicken broth, extra carrots and celery, dried basil and oregano). But this recipe is amazing! My boyfriend and love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
It was great!! Perfect for a cold day. I just added 1 can of tomato sauce and 4 cups of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of Spanish red wine!! The soup turned out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I love this soup. It's my #1 WW recipe for 2 points or less. I usually use 1 28oz can of tomatoes and a small tomato paste. That's usually what I have on hand. It doesn't change the outcome. I also add a tbsp of hot pepper flakes as a personal preference. The parm cheese is a must! Thanks for a quick and easy, healthy recipe. I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Delicious! I cut back on the tomato sauce, but it's a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My hubby doesn't like soup, especially any soup without meat in it, and he dubbed this the best minestrone soup he's ever had! I only used 1 onion and left out the zucchini, as I didn't have any on hand, and it was so good! Super easy to put together and then let simmer as I baked up a fresh loaf of bread to serve with it. I love having the noodles separate so they didn't get soggy. Don't know why I haven't thought of that before! Thanks for the amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Not bad for occasional soup -- filling as there are many vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States