Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is my "go-to" soup. Easy to make, eaten by all in the family including the picky eaters. A couple of changes: I use 2 cans of chicken broth (Swanson low-sodium)with a 1/2 can water and 1/2 can red wine instead of the measurements listed. I also make 1 1/2 cups (dry) shells and add them directly to the pot after they are cooked. This time I used whole wheat shells and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made it yesterday. Loved it. I used two cans of kidney beans instead of one. Also, I didn't have enough tomato sauce so I added some diced tomatoes, too. I think it was a good addition. Finally, the red wine adds a nice dimension - use it if you can. Get your freezing containers ready... This recipe makes a nice, huge batch. (I sent some to the neighbors.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I make this a few times a year. I follow the recipe exactly, but I rarely have fresh herbs so I use dried. It is my go to soup! I forgot once to add the pasta and now I don't even miss it! Sometimes I add potatoes or different veggies. It's always great. It's really a no-fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PorcelainDoll
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Tastes like the soup you can get at an Italian restaurant, great, easy recipe. Changes I made: added a can if diced tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce. Used whole wheat fusilli noodles, and omitted the cheese and wine. I get my groceries at trader joes and they have pre-chopped onions, carrots, and celery, which made the process simple. Also used dried basil and oregano it tasted fine. Will def make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Awesome! Absolutely loved it! I added cabbage instead of using pasta and might use another can of beans next time but it was delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. It's the first time I've ever made minestrone and I was so happy with how easy and delicious it was. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great taste. I have to cut down on the spinach. I didn't use zucchini and added the shells to the soup before serving. The longer this cooks the better it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
lots of chopping but essentially simple to put together...very good. I did use whole tomatoes that I crushed up instead of tomato sauce and added 1 large diced potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this for a youth group function that had about 50 people, so needless to say I had to up the quantities. This was an amazing soup!!! I had so many compliments on it. One note that I did and recommend not doing, I added the noodles way too early - so by the time I served it they were soggy and broke up. They became the mystry ingredient that no one could figure out!!! Still yummy though. Thanks for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This hit the spot! Here are my adjustments: 1 can petite diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce with one large box of low sodium vegetable stock. I also used cabbage instead of spinach because it seems more traditional to me. And I used white cannelini or great northern beans. The beans should be white IMHO. I also added a rind of parmesean Reggiano to add a bit more depth. And I didn't have fresh oregano or basil so I used dried. Just be sure to add them to the oil after sautéing onions. This helps with the flavor. I added celery too. Was celery called for? Anyway, it's perfect. I love this so much!! I use cavatapi noodles which are hearty and fun. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States