Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great! I had an eggplant I needed to use, so I used it in place of zucchini.. Added a splash of white wine vinegar toward the end of the cooking time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe exactly how it is. You can add more veggies if you want to or make some slight changes depending on how you feel. I have made this at least 10 times now and it is still a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This soup is absolutely wonderful, just as good as a restaurants. The only thing I change bc it's alittle bland for us is to use 2qts of pure tomatoe juice instead of the sauce and water (healthier and less sugar) double the garlic and add more seasoning per taste but otherwise great soup I also add either a few chopped up tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes and often 2 cans beans makes it just that touch more rich and hearty as we don't like watery soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Excellent easy recipe! Use fresh veggies as much as possible on this one good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe is good as a base start. When I made it as written it was a little bland. I suggest adding your own extra ingredients to your liking. Otherwise I really do like how simple this recipe is and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was very tasty! Easy to play around with. Like a few other reviewers, I used 4 cups of broth. I also used one can of tomato sauce and one can of diced tomatoes in tomato juice (undrained). Also, I pureed about 2 cups of the mixture (before adding pasta) to thicken it a little. Super easy and so healthy and full of veggies! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
super super awesome!!! this was great!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! Family and friends loved it as well. Pretty much stuck with the recipe only added fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden. Will never order it out again as I will know I will be dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
MADE A LOT OF CHANGES! USED BEAN STOCK INSTEAD OF WATER FOR MORE NUTRIENTS AND FLAVOR;(COOKED KIDNEY BEANS FROM SCRATCH AND SAVED STOCK); USED BOK CHOY LEAVES AND STALK INSTEAD OF CELERY AND SPINACH,OMITTED TOMATO SAUCE AND SQUEEZED A CAN OF DICED TOMATOES THROUGH A SIEVE INSTEAD,(USED EXTRA BEAN STOCK FOR LIQUID), OMITTED ZUCHHINI AND SUBSTITUTED MORE FRESH, FROZEN GREEN BEANS AS OPPOSED TO CANNED. NOW,IT IS FABULOUS!/arnetage68
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roisin
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Incredible, I've tried a few different recipes, and this one is by far the best. I've never made it exactly as stated, which to me says that you can't go wrong. The very few negative reviews sound to be people who aren't used to cooking - anyone who knows anything about cooking knows that tomato sauce is basically passata with herbs and garlic, and maybe some tomato puree. It's not dolmio, and it certainly isn't ketchup. I just use my own tomato sauce ingredients and throw them in the pot - for this recipe, that's lots of dry herbs, lots of garlic, a bay leaf and three tins of plum tomatoes that I squeeze to break up. I also added two dry chillies. My boyfriend just had two extra helpings of this. Absolutely top notch, good enough for us to eat for three days in a row
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States