Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it's delicious! Yesterday I followed it almost to the letter, except I made it in the slow cooker. I first sauteed the onion, celery and carrots as directed. I added the garlic closer to the end of sauteeing, instead of the beginning, since garlic can burn easily. Then I dumped this mixture into the slow cooker along with all the remaining ingredients except for the spinach and the pasta, and let it cook for about 4 hours. I used vegetable broth to make it vegan. I added the spinach near serving time and let it wilt. Pasta is cooked separately, because if you cook it with the soup, it will suck up all the broth. I used small whole wheat shells and it was delicious. This recipe is very adaptable. You can use whatever veggies you have on hand. It makes an excellent and healthy vegetarian meal served with some whole grain garlic bread and maybe a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've used this recipe several times and as other reviewers have suggested I made substitutions and/or addition of veggies to fit my family's tastes. It is amazing every time. I always do all broth instead of water and broth. I like to use yellow squash and zucchini. I also use ditalini pasta instead of shells. I've tried with cabbage instead of spinach and have found I like the spinach better. But again, this recipe produces an amazing soup as long as you stick to the basic premise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great soup recipe. I only changed one thing. I did not add the green beans. I did put a can of Kidney beans and a can of Romano beans instead. My whole family loved this one. I definitely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I'm about to make this and I know I see potatoes in the picture! They're not in the ing. - maybe I'll cook one to add just in case... will update on the outcome later - perfect fall day in Raleigh for this soup and homemade bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love this recipe. Used homemade crushed Roma tomatoes for the base, scallopini squash instead of zucchinni (needed to use it up) and pretty much followed the recipe. Made a double batch to freeze half. Used some Eden Kamut small tube noodles cooked on the side! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is the second time I am making this soup. Tonight I am trying it with sweet potato to change it up. Last time I added fresh tomatoes at the end because I love tomatoes! This recipe will be a regular addition to my dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An excellent, very flexible recipe. I ended up with a "stoup" with not enough liquid, so I added another can of chicken broth and another can of water. You may want to add more tomato sauce after this, but I thought the broth was fine with out more. I cooked the pasta in the soup rather than separately which resulted in almost too soft pasta. Probably should have stayed with the recipe on that one! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe. We made a few changes but nothing major. Added a can of diced tomatos. Used 2 cans of kidney beans. Three cups of chicken broth. I used dried spices 1T basil 1/2T oregano because I didn't have fresh. I did not add the wine we didn't have any. Used 1 cup uncooked small shell pasta. Cooked seperate and added right before serving. Overall this was an awesome soup we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I just made this today in honor of fall. Wow, what a treat. I followed the recipe and the only thing I didn't add was the 2 cups of water because I love flavor. Seriously...such a great fall soup. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I'm about to be one of those totally annoying people who change the recipe. But here goes... I sauteed garlic and onion, then added sweet Italian sausage links. When that had cooked down for a while, I cut up the sausage with scissors then added 4 cups of chicken broth, 2 cans of Italian-style stewed tomatoes, some white wine, and let it come to a boil, then added everything else - 2 small zucchini, 1 small yellow squash, fresh basil, fresh oregano, a bag of frozen mixed veggies (corn, carrots, green beans, lima beans), a can of garbanzos, a can of kidneys, fresh kale and fresh spinach. Let it all cook down for an hour plus. When it was almost done, I realized I'd forgotten the fingerling potatoes I'd bought at the farmer's market, so I sliced them 1/4 inch and threw them into the boiling pot for 20 more minutes. Ladled soup over big shell pasta and garnished with lots of fresh grated parm. It was to die for. Mmmm. Mmmm. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States