Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have now made this twice exactly as written. This makes a very hearty soup, loaded with vegetables. If you're looking for something with lots of broth, this isn't it. I usually add a little extra chicken broth and tomato sauce as needed just to give this soup a little more broth. The flavor is as good if not better than what you can get at the local Italian eateries. I would not change a thing in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made this recipe mostly as it is written and while it was good, will make some tweaks. Way too tomato-y tasking with the tomato sauce so will just used canned diced tomatoes next time. I did add a dash of Worcestershire sauce that I liked. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
i'm a huge fan of making soups, but as written this seemed to lean more towards a very hearty tomato flavored stew.. i cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 an onion, 1 1/2 stalks of celery, 10 baby carrots cut into matchsticks, 3 cups of chicken broth, one 8 oz can of tomato sauce, canellini beans instead of kidney, 1/2 cup of frozen green beans, probably a little more spinach than called for, added 10 oz of italian seasoning ground turkey and made little meatballs out of them, one zucchini instead of 1 1/2, doubled the pasta and used the corkscrew kind, 1 1/2 tsp italian seasoning for the oregano and basil, a smidgen of ground thyme and a dash of cayenne.. in the future i'd add the zucchini's much later as we like our veggies more crisp and by the time everything was done the zucchini's were very soft.. i will give Jamie credit as the whole point of this recipe was to incorporate more veggies into the soup and reduce the salt which canned soups are notorious for.. it may be a bit much for most people.. but you get an A for effort.. ty for a great starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Fantastic!!! I made a few changes based on personal choices but I guarantee as written this rocks - hence a justified 5 star recipe. All I did was sub veggie broth for chicken broth and add Lima beans and potatoes. Used dried basil and such becasue I'm cheap. Oh, and added a can of diced Italian tomatoes. Delicious, filling, and healthy. Yum!! Side note - I suggest Quinoa pasta shells. That's the very best pasta brand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was great, I especially love the idea of cooking the pasta separately. I have never liked the pasta being overcooked. I also cut the carrots large size so they weren't overcooked either. Cooking pasta separately was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was a great recipe, but I made a few changes. I added corn and I put pasta directly into the pot of soup to cook so it would soak up all the flavor of the soup. I also used 4 cups of chicken stock to replace the 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups water.I will make this over and over this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it's delicious! Yesterday I followed it almost to the letter, except I made it in the slow cooker. I first sauteed the onion, celery and carrots as directed. I added the garlic closer to the end of sauteeing, instead of the beginning, since garlic can burn easily. Then I dumped this mixture into the slow cooker along with all the remaining ingredients except for the spinach and the pasta, and let it cook for about 4 hours. I used vegetable broth to make it vegan. I added the spinach near serving time and let it wilt. Pasta is cooked separately, because if you cook it with the soup, it will suck up all the broth. I used small whole wheat shells and it was delicious. This recipe is very adaptable. You can use whatever veggies you have on hand. It makes an excellent and healthy vegetarian meal served with some whole grain garlic bread and maybe a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I've used this recipe several times and as other reviewers have suggested I made substitutions and/or addition of veggies to fit my family's tastes. It is amazing every time. I always do all broth instead of water and broth. I like to use yellow squash and zucchini. I also use ditalini pasta instead of shells. I've tried with cabbage instead of spinach and have found I like the spinach better. But again, this recipe produces an amazing soup as long as you stick to the basic premise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great soup recipe. I only changed one thing. I did not add the green beans. I did put a can of Kidney beans and a can of Romano beans instead. My whole family loved this one. I definitely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I'm about to make this and I know I see potatoes in the picture! They're not in the ing. - maybe I'll cook one to add just in case... will update on the outcome later - perfect fall day in Raleigh for this soup and homemade bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States