Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great recipe! Used one onion instead of two (only because they're not my favorite) and 1/2 c. quinoa (just to add more protein) per serving instead of the pasta. I also had about a cup of leftover garbanzo beans, so I added those to the soup as well. I love making a big pot of soup to have on hand during winter for lunches or whenever, so this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Absolutely loved it! My teenage daughters and finicky hubby did too. It tasted just like minestrone should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
So delicious! I make extra and we have this soup leftover for a couple nights. It is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Delicious! Added a little hot sauce at the end to give it a little kick. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yum, loved this! I used frozen green beans instead of canned and cooked the pasta in the soup to save time. I did add the wine which gave it a great flavor. It was very tomato-ey, but hubby and I really enjoyed it. I cut it in half for just the two of us and it made four bowls. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I used a combination of many of the suggestions that together turned out to make one of the best soups we've tried: I used about 46 oz. of chicken broth, no water, 2 cups of tomato sauce, about 3/4 cup of wine (half when the recipe tells you to and half near the end). I used dried spices, but probably ended up using about the same quantities of the dried that the recipe calls for in fresh. Otherwise this might be bland. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper, not to make it hot, but rather to bring out the flavors. oh, and I chose not to use any kind of bean other than the green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Husband said this was award winning! Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is the best minestrone recipe I've tried! I only made a few minor changes: used 1 quart of organic "no chicken" broth in place of the chicken broth and water (I'm vegan), added an extra clove of garlic, and used a pound of fresh organic green beans instead of canned. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this recipe last week. I followed it almost exactly. I didn't use as much garlic or onion to accommodate my own preferences, I don't like too much of those ingredients in my recipes. This recipe did take me about an hour and a half to make which is stated in the recipe so I was warned. It ended up tasting a bit bland. Maybe because I used tomato sauce with less sodium, or possibly because I cut out garlic and onion. Also, the acidity of the tomato sauce upset my stomach as well as my bf's stomach. If I were to make this again, I would definitely use less tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is the best minestrone recipe. Remember to sauté the veggies with garlic and onion prior to throwing in the pot. You almost need to get some of them on the burnt side to bring out more flavor. I used all fresh veggies..no can's and slow cooked for 8 hours. It does taste on the lightly seasoned side but once you add the parmesan at the end it tastes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States