Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tomato sauce made this MUCH too tangy/sour for my taste. Also, it sort of glops onto the vegetables if you simmer it as long as needed to remove some of the acidity. I would use crushed tomatoes instead next time and increase the water/broth combination a bit to ensure soupy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
nothing special about this in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Yum! This was really good. A new favorite for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My family and I LOVED this soup! I cut down the olive oil to 1 tablespoon. I also used all chicken broth for the liquid instead of half broth, half water. I served it with grilled Italian sausages (for those who wanted some meat with their meal) and garlic bread. Super healthy, hearty, and satisfying! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very very nice recipe! Only reason for ranking a 4 was based on personal taste preferences as I found the broth to be a little lacking in flavor. Note to self: substitute a mixture of diced tomatoes, tomato juice and/or paste for sauce, canninoli beans for kidney, frozen or fresh green beans vs canned, and then add a chunk of parm cheese rind. Everything else is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
this was just okay. did not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is my wintertime go-to recipe! It's EXCELLENT just the way it's written, or modified depending on what I have on hand! Haha I've given this away to friends and called it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious soup I used red Moscato wine in it and it gave it sooo much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kersey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Added a dash of crushed red pepper, and more chicken broth rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Amazing, delicious minestrone soup! I personally like to add the spinach separately, when the soup is about 15 minutes from being done simmering. The spinach seems to taste and look fresher that way. Please note that this recipe also makes a ton of soup! It ended up being closer to 10-12 servings, but the leftovers tasted so good, that none of it went to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States