Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this soup last night for dinner. A hit! I added 1/2 tsp of fresh-dried cilantro. Worked wonderfully. Like others have said, the recipe makes tons. I am freezing some for the rest of winter when I don't feel like cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! so thick and rich with lots of veggies. The only change I made was using dried herbs. thats only because its January in Michigan and fresh herbs are not too plentiful. Otherwise, wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
It was great. The only thing I would change is to use fresh ingredients wherever you can. I used fresh green beans and the flavor was better. If you are trying to cut down on sodium (which is what the author stated she was trying to do), avoid the canned stuff, which has lots of salt in it. If you must use canned beans, rinse them first so some of the excess sodium comes off. Overall I did enjoy this. I added fresh basil, fresh thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I loved this!!!! And only minor changes. I am now meat products free and also staying away from extra/added oils and butter. So i cut those out and just a little PAM in the begining. I am also trying to eat more fresh veggies. So I used fresh green beans and also added dino kale 6 stalks. We like little kick so i added 1\2 teaspoon red pepperflakes. And last dried hrebs because of the long cook time. So great very happy eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great Soup, I didn't add the noodles(we're trying to avoid starches) for now... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Yet another winner from this site. Extremely delicious, filling and healthy (if you use the parmigiana sparingly) and easy to make. I would say it took a good hour of simmering after adding all the vegetables. Don't skip the little drizzle of olive oil in the bowl before serving. It really adds some richness to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was so easy and absolutely delicious!! I put a little too much tomato sauce so I added a little beef broth and it helped. Also threw in some asparagus. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made this yesterday and it was fantastic. I made some minor changes- I subbed two cans of petit diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil for the tomato sauce and I used all chicken broth instead of water. I also used an entire 9oz package of fresh spinach and threw a cup of uncooked sea shells in for the last 15 min of cooking instead of cooking separately. Oh, and I used dried herbs (half the rx amount for fresh). I left some at my parents today for them to reheat for dinner and my dad called me to tell me it was outstanding and better than carrabas minestrone that he had just had! With some tweaks to your taste, this recipe is 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States