Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
One of the best soups out there and it freezes well as an added bonus. I grow zucchini in my garden, shred it up and freeze it, it works perfectly in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is delicious! Happy I took the time to make it. I used 3 cans tomato sauce instead of measuring out 3 cups.I also thru in the whole can of kidney beans. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made this Vegan for my kids. Changed the chicken broth to vegetable broth. They loved it, I loved it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This soup is the boss of minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is a fantastically hearty soup with great flavor. I make it almost every week, especially when it's cold out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I use white beans instead of red, and skip the wine because I blend it up for baby food too! Great easy from-scratch cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnyMouse
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
So yum!!! As the author says, this is a low sodium, high vegetable version of minestrone. My modifications to the recipe were: 2 cups of crushed tomatoes, 4 cups of water, chicken bullion to make 2 cups of broth, and because I happened to have a 14 oz can of tomatoes seasoned with basil, they went in too. I was a little shy on some of the vegetables but that didn't really matter. I also used probably 2 tablespoons of my favorite Italian seasoning blend instead of fresh. I didn't have red wine on hand so I used 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar. The tip to cook the pasta separately and add it in the bowl is excellent. This is a great use-it-up soup and it's also freezer friendly. It's going to get a long term place in my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Great basic delish minestrone, just what I was craving! I didn't really change it, just added some more vegetables, cannelini beans and my trusty Spike seasoning. I did use the wine. I loved it, will make often as my 3 year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was delicious and simple! The only change I made was using 3 cups broth and 1 cup water. Not sure how much of a difference it made, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made as stated this is only a 2 or 3 star soup. But I managed to make it into a 4 star before my husband came home. I did tweak this recipe but only after tasting it and it didn't taste like minestrone, more like a bland tomato soup with onion. I noticed as it simmered that there wasn't going to be much liquid so I added 1 cup more broth and kept adding water as I saw fit (probably 2 more cups). Had to use a lot of salt as it lacked flavor and I am not a good enough cook to know how to use herbs or spices to add flavor to food. Way to many veggies. Love them but way way to many. I'll cut it down to half next time I try this (if I do). So finally it was done, and it was just alright, but it still lacked something. So I added lime to my dish (which I was wary of doing because I didn't know how good it would go with the Parmesan but it worked out). Ate two bowls. Husband ate without the lime and said it was ok for being my first time attempting this soup but he did eat another bowl a few hours later. Not sure if the servings are off or if it was the 3 extra cups of liquid added, but after 5 bowls of soup eaten, I still have over half the pot full. So if you live near me and want to try this soup, please come by for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velazquez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States