Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An excellent, very flexible recipe. I ended up with a "stoup" with not enough liquid, so I added another can of chicken broth and another can of water. You may want to add more tomato sauce after this, but I thought the broth was fine with out more. I cooked the pasta in the soup rather than separately which resulted in almost too soft pasta. Probably should have stayed with the recipe on that one! I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe. We made a few changes but nothing major. Added a can of diced tomatos. Used 2 cans of kidney beans. Three cups of chicken broth. I used dried spices 1T basil 1/2T oregano because I didn't have fresh. I did not add the wine we didn't have any. Used 1 cup uncooked small shell pasta. Cooked seperate and added right before serving. Overall this was an awesome soup we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I just made this today in honor of fall. Wow, what a treat. I followed the recipe and the only thing I didn't add was the 2 cups of water because I love flavor. Seriously...such a great fall soup. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I'm about to be one of those totally annoying people who change the recipe. But here goes... I sauteed garlic and onion, then added sweet Italian sausage links. When that had cooked down for a while, I cut up the sausage with scissors then added 4 cups of chicken broth, 2 cans of Italian-style stewed tomatoes, some white wine, and let it come to a boil, then added everything else - 2 small zucchini, 1 small yellow squash, fresh basil, fresh oregano, a bag of frozen mixed veggies (corn, carrots, green beans, lima beans), a can of garbanzos, a can of kidneys, fresh kale and fresh spinach. Let it all cook down for an hour plus. When it was almost done, I realized I'd forgotten the fingerling potatoes I'd bought at the farmer's market, so I sliced them 1/4 inch and threw them into the boiling pot for 20 more minutes. Ladled soup over big shell pasta and garnished with lots of fresh grated parm. It was to die for. Mmmm. Mmmm. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This recipe was awesome! I never rate recipes but I couldn't help but rate this one. I used fresh veggies from the garden. I added some yellow squash and fresh tomatoes. I also added more spinach and had some rosemary/olive oil bread with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Just made the recipe tonight and it was delicious! So easy to make. The combination of chicken broth/stock and tomato sauce tasted like I had made it completely from scratch. I cut the recipe in half and still had leftovers after a family of 4 served. I bet it will be even better tomorrow. It certainly will be great on a cold, winter night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great! I had an eggplant I needed to use, so I used it in place of zucchini.. Added a splash of white wine vinegar toward the end of the cooking time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe exactly how it is. You can add more veggies if you want to or make some slight changes depending on how you feel. I have made this at least 10 times now and it is still a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This soup is absolutely wonderful, just as good as a restaurants. The only thing I change bc it's alittle bland for us is to use 2qts of pure tomatoe juice instead of the sauce and water (healthier and less sugar) double the garlic and add more seasoning per taste but otherwise great soup I also add either a few chopped up tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes and often 2 cans beans makes it just that touch more rich and hearty as we don't like watery soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Excellent easy recipe! Use fresh veggies as much as possible on this one good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States