Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used a 28 oz can crushed tomatoes, 1 T.dried basil and thyme and one large unpeeled red potato. No wine, or spinach super flavors, next time I'll make it the day before. Then it will be super amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Amazing soup! Highly recommend. I added a bit of red pepper flakes to give it a bit of spice and it turned out fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Great versital recipe. If anyone has made soup before without recipes they would know leaving out the tomato base does not make it minestrone. It makes it chicken soup.. Cracks me up how people change things so much and then rate. I have my own version of minestrone I made up long ago. I had everything on hand left over from a winter garden for this one so gave it a go. Yes, I changed vegetables for our liking. But the base was the same. Yummy it was. Similar to mine only instead of tomato sauce I use half chicken and half pasta sauce. I do think the pasta sauce makes it thicker and packs more flavor but this way is just as good and will be put in my rotation. Minestrone is my favorite soup and I make it more then others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcy Udell
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent Recipe!!!! I added mushrooms also....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy Udell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This recipe is outstanding. I used all chicken stock (instead of 1/2 water, 1/2 chicken stock). I also reduced the merlot for a minute or so (my wine of choice for this soup) before adding it; just a personal preference. I used frozen spinach. It was good but next time I will use the chopped spinach instead. Great taste. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Jarema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Really good soup and a lot of it! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used a crock pot. After sauteing the veggies, I dumped everything (except the noodles) in the crock pot, filled to the brim, and cooked on low for about 10 hours. Everything held up nicely, and there was a ton of broth. The fresh herbs made a big difference. For wine, I used Apothic Red, which was good in the soup and also served alongside it. I found that the soup needed a lot of extra salt to meet its potential, plus a little cayenne pepper. Otherwise pretty spot on! I used those sweet little organic carrots in mine, and they were tasty. I've been eating on this soup for days, shared several bowls with friends, and there's still a lot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Oh my goodness! This is the best minestrone recipe I have made yet! (and I love minestrone so I have tried many)It does make a huge batch so I just keep the pasta separate and freeze. So good and easily adjustable for substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Hit the spot with just the right amount of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States