Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was one of the best soups I've ever made! I was looking for a recipe to use up some ingredients that I had, so my soup wasn't 100% according to the recipe but I don't think it would matter, the base was the same. I added a couple of Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut up, about a cup of a corn/pea/carrot/green bean frozen vegetable mix instead of the can of green beans, and one whole can of white kidney beans instead of one cup red. I omitted the red wine and used one large zucchini instead of three. I used half of the amount called for of onion, celery and carrots. I kept the ratio of chicken broth, water and tomato sauce. Finally, I used whole wheat penne instead of shells, and cut them into shell-sized pieces once cooked. We were really impressed with the results and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is my "go-to" soup. Easy to make, eaten by all in the family including the picky eaters. A couple of changes: I use 2 cans of chicken broth (Swanson low-sodium)with a 1/2 can water and 1/2 can red wine instead of the measurements listed. I also make 1 1/2 cups (dry) shells and add them directly to the pot after they are cooked. This time I used whole wheat shells and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made it yesterday. Loved it. I used two cans of kidney beans instead of one. Also, I didn't have enough tomato sauce so I added some diced tomatoes, too. I think it was a good addition. Finally, the red wine adds a nice dimension - use it if you can. Get your freezing containers ready... This recipe makes a nice, huge batch. (I sent some to the neighbors.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I make this a few times a year. I follow the recipe exactly, but I rarely have fresh herbs so I use dried. It is my go to soup! I forgot once to add the pasta and now I don't even miss it! Sometimes I add potatoes or different veggies. It's always great. It's really a no-fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PorcelainDoll
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Tastes like the soup you can get at an Italian restaurant, great, easy recipe. Changes I made: added a can if diced tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce. Used whole wheat fusilli noodles, and omitted the cheese and wine. I get my groceries at trader joes and they have pre-chopped onions, carrots, and celery, which made the process simple. Also used dried basil and oregano it tasted fine. Will def make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Awesome! Absolutely loved it! I added cabbage instead of using pasta and might use another can of beans next time but it was delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. It's the first time I've ever made minestrone and I was so happy with how easy and delicious it was. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great taste. I have to cut down on the spinach. I didn't use zucchini and added the shells to the soup before serving. The longer this cooks the better it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
lots of chopping but essentially simple to put together...very good. I did use whole tomatoes that I crushed up instead of tomato sauce and added 1 large diced potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this for a youth group function that had about 50 people, so needless to say I had to up the quantities. This was an amazing soup!!! I had so many compliments on it. One note that I did and recommend not doing, I added the noodles way too early - so by the time I served it they were soggy and broke up. They became the mystry ingredient that no one could figure out!!! Still yummy though. Thanks for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madam Hootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States