Jamie's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Delicious! Added a little hot sauce at the end to give it a little kick. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yum, loved this! I used frozen green beans instead of canned and cooked the pasta in the soup to save time. I did add the wine which gave it a great flavor. It was very tomato-ey, but hubby and I really enjoyed it. I cut it in half for just the two of us and it made four bowls. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I used a combination of many of the suggestions that together turned out to make one of the best soups we've tried: I used about 46 oz. of chicken broth, no water, 2 cups of tomato sauce, about 3/4 cup of wine (half when the recipe tells you to and half near the end). I used dried spices, but probably ended up using about the same quantities of the dried that the recipe calls for in fresh. Otherwise this might be bland. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper, not to make it hot, but rather to bring out the flavors. oh, and I chose not to use any kind of bean other than the green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Husband said this was award winning! Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is the best minestrone recipe I've tried! I only made a few minor changes: used 1 quart of organic "no chicken" broth in place of the chicken broth and water (I'm vegan), added an extra clove of garlic, and used a pound of fresh organic green beans instead of canned. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai Keli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this recipe last week. I followed it almost exactly. I didn't use as much garlic or onion to accommodate my own preferences, I don't like too much of those ingredients in my recipes. This recipe did take me about an hour and a half to make which is stated in the recipe so I was warned. It ended up tasting a bit bland. Maybe because I used tomato sauce with less sodium, or possibly because I cut out garlic and onion. Also, the acidity of the tomato sauce upset my stomach as well as my bf's stomach. If I were to make this again, I would definitely use less tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is the best minestrone recipe. Remember to sauté the veggies with garlic and onion prior to throwing in the pot. You almost need to get some of them on the burnt side to bring out more flavor. I used all fresh veggies..no can's and slow cooked for 8 hours. It does taste on the lightly seasoned side but once you add the parmesan at the end it tastes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have now made this twice exactly as written. This makes a very hearty soup, loaded with vegetables. If you're looking for something with lots of broth, this isn't it. I usually add a little extra chicken broth and tomato sauce as needed just to give this soup a little more broth. The flavor is as good if not better than what you can get at the local Italian eateries. I would not change a thing in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made this recipe mostly as it is written and while it was good, will make some tweaks. Way too tomato-y tasking with the tomato sauce so will just used canned diced tomatoes next time. I did add a dash of Worcestershire sauce that I liked. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
i'm a huge fan of making soups, but as written this seemed to lean more towards a very hearty tomato flavored stew.. i cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 an onion, 1 1/2 stalks of celery, 10 baby carrots cut into matchsticks, 3 cups of chicken broth, one 8 oz can of tomato sauce, canellini beans instead of kidney, 1/2 cup of frozen green beans, probably a little more spinach than called for, added 10 oz of italian seasoning ground turkey and made little meatballs out of them, one zucchini instead of 1 1/2, doubled the pasta and used the corkscrew kind, 1 1/2 tsp italian seasoning for the oregano and basil, a smidgen of ground thyme and a dash of cayenne.. in the future i'd add the zucchini's much later as we like our veggies more crisp and by the time everything was done the zucchini's were very soft.. i will give Jamie credit as the whole point of this recipe was to incorporate more veggies into the soup and reduce the salt which canned soups are notorious for.. it may be a bit much for most people.. but you get an A for effort.. ty for a great starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States