Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Kind of forgettable. Made as directed. Too sweet, for sure, and just not as fabulous as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Really good, and easily modified to your tastes. I made the dressing almost as listed (just use virgin olive oil, halfed the sugar and added a little artificial to it). I thought it needed a little more of something, so added about 2 teaspoons of Raspberry Vinagrette dressing that I had on hand. I chose to omit the cranberries (lots of calories there) and used a can of mandarin oranges and added 3 boiled chopped eggs. I thought my picky husband would turn it down, but he loved it. It was a meal for me and I think you could add almost any mix of veggies you like. I only dinged it one star because the dressing needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Limited ingredients makes it easy to make. The dressing is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I thought the recipe was great. Used Craisins instead of cranberries. I didn't use any sugar at all; it was definitely sweet enough with the Craisins. Also cut the oil to half and used less of the vinegars. Definitely toast the almonds, but be careful not to burn - only takes a minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this recipe exactly at written. It's good but not spectacular. I will probably make it again. Average salad recipe and slightly above average dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katileena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Probably the tastiest simple salad I've had. Even my sister who hates spinach loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this for my family and it was a big hit. I followed another reviewer's advice by adding blue cheese. So yummy and easy to make. Definitely will make again. Only suggestion is too much dressing so cut dressing ingredients so not too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I roasted almonds and pecans on a sprayed cookie sheet- no butter. Olive oil instead of veg oil and cut sugar by half. This salad is outstanding! I kept the dressing separate so the salad wouldn't get soggy. Since making this for guests I now just make the dressing to keep in the fridge- I cut the sugar down to about a quarter of the original. I make individual salads and just throw on some almonds/pecans or whatever nuts I have in the house and use whatever dried fruit- raisins, cranberries, plums. I also add chopped red onion. Easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it was WONDERFUL. The fact that I was eating healthy spinach even made it more appealing. It will be hard to go back to lettuce salads. I'm going to have to agree with Jteam here as well. Rate the recipe on its own merit, that way we get a true rating. Love all the other suggestions, but yes, post it as a separate recipe, that we can also try it and rate your version of it. NEXT DAY: I had to come back and add this to my review. After dinner, I had just about 1 1/2 servings left. I was interested in seeing how the salad would hold up for left overs. Especially since the salad was already dressed. So I got rid of the dressing that was at the bottom of the serving bowl and put the salad in the fridge. The next day I had it and the spinach had taken on a different texture and so had the flavor. The salad had more depth to it. With the changed texture and deeper flavor, it was like a whole different salad. The first time around it was bright, the second time around it was still good. I shall be absolutely making this salad again as is and definitely saving the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States