Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I had a group of high school girls eating with us and one girl declared this was the best salad she's ever had. They cleaned the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I was on salad duty for a NYE party and knew that for the crowd I'd be serving, romaine with a few tomatoes and some ranch dressing wouldn't fly. So I found this recipe and gave it a shot. After reading the majority of reviews, I decided that I'd reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup. I omitted the poppy seeds as I don't like them and toasted the sesame seeds and then the almonds in a dry pan. Dry toasting gives nuts & seeds incredible flavor, but be careful not to burn them or they'll turn bitter. I used just over a cup of Craisins and pre-packaged salad in a variety of types - mixed greens and lettuces. I pre-made the dressing sans oil, packed everything separately and just put it together at the party and dressed the salad there. I was really nervous as this was a blind recipe I'd never tried before. Personally, I found it much too sweet for my taste, but everyone LOVED it! It was almost entirely gone. Be sure to state to everyone you're serving that there are almonds in the salad. I had two guests that were allergic to walnuts but almonds turned out to be fine. It was something I just hadn't considered, so definitely be aware. I'd make this again for a party, but it's much too sweet-tasting for me, personally. But hey ~ people obviously really like this salad WITH the dressing recipe given, so I'd recommend people at least give it a try as is. Oh, and dress the salad initially using 3/4 of the dressing. Using the whole amount seemed like way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this for New Years Eve dinner for seven people, and everyone absolutely loved it. Our daughter wanted the recipe, so she now has it . I am a diabetic, so there is too much sugar in it for me, but maybe I will make it for us using Stevia. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
It was delicious! It was quick and easy, but it tasted like a salad from my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanne Patel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This salad is amazing! I followed the recipe except I only put half the amount of sugar suggested. This is so easy to make and all the different flavors go great together. It also looked very festive on my Christmas dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Simple and easy. And tasted GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made recipe exactly as is and it was a hit. I especially liked the crunch of the toasted sesame seeds. Someone said " I don't normally eat salad because I don't like it. This is the best salad I've had in my life and I must have the recipe." Now that's a recommendation!! Second time I added crumbled Gorgonzola cheese which I really enjoyed as well. I will always add cheese going forward. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved this salad! My entire family enjoyed this salad even the kids! I followed the recipe exactly tasted it and it was good. I added blue cheese crumbles to the salad and it was extra good. Definitely, add the blue cheese super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynika Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Well, nobody "raved" about this. In fact, out of 10 dinner guests, no one even commented on it, but it was well eaten. I thought it was good but I have had better salads, so this fell short of a 5 star. I would not make this again simply because there are better ones out there. If you plan to try this, one suggestion I would strongly make is not to toast the slivered almonds in butter. Once they cooled and were on the cold salad, they were greasy because the butter had solidified. If I were going to make this salad again, I would definitely toast the almonds the dry method way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States