Jamie's Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was so easy and so delicious...i added a clove of minced garlic to the onion and green pepper, and then pan fried some sliced smoked sausage and added it to the finished rice...it made a delicious meal. Both my husband and I loved it. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very good! I made a couple modifications based on the feedback here: Drained and rinsed the beans (too starchy otherwise - not sure why one wouldn't do so); added half a cup of salsa, one cup of frozen corn and three cloves of garlic. Served over long grain wild rice with a dab of sour cream. Eat with a fork or corn chips! I also used fresh onion and pepper since I couldn't find any frozen mix of the same! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very easy and really good if you like rice and beans. If you're not a fan of beans, you probably aren't even looking at this recipe. Otherwise, make sure the enchilada sauce is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Good healthy side if using brown rice. Find low sodium enchilada sauce or make my own. spice up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
OMG... To die for! Be sure to drain the black beans, add 2 cloves of minced garlic, and 1 can of diced tomatoes (drained). Should we want a full dinner I'm planning on adding 1 lb. of cooked and drained ground beef or turkey. Can't wait to see how that turns out. Definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We really enjoyed this! Used 2 chopped yellow peppers and a small sweet diced sweet onion. Instead of a can of enchilada sauce used 10 oz of tomato juice and 2 Tbsp of chili powder. Made with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This s quite good when served with grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My family loved it! I gave it 5 stars but I did what other reviewers suggested and added a can of diced tomatoes and corn. I used frozen 3 pepper and onion blend. This is the 2nd time I made it and we still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
5 stars with the following changes: One pot meal. In a large skillet, heat 1 Tbsp olive oil w/ 1 Tbsp butter. Add 1 cup uncooked rice, 1/2 cup green peeper, 1/2 cup red onion, 1/2 of a jalapeno & 1 clove minced garlic. Saute for 2 min. Add 2 cups water, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp salt. Bring water to a boil, stir rice, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add 15 ounce can of black beans (drained and rinsed) and a 10 ounce can of green chili enchilada sauce. Let simmer 10 min. Serve with sour cream and mexican cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Easy and very tasty. I made a few changes: added 1 fresh green pepper and a fresh small-med onion instead of the frozen. Have also made this with pinto beans and it's awesome with those, too. Thanks for posting! Just wanted to follow up: When I made this the first time, I used Frontera Green Chile Enchilada Sauce, which was fantastic. Since then I have played around a bit and used a less expensive can (maybe Old El Paso or something) and it wasn't nearly as good. Just fyi....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States