Jamie's Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Is it possible to use fresh instead of frozen green bell peppers and onions? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is very flavorful and good for you. A yummy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Very good tastes great! It also makes a great base for vegiterian fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, New York, USA
Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This recipe was great! I used red beans because i didn't have black. I grilled a flour tortilla (yes, grilled! try it) just until crispy, put a layer of shredded chicken with salsa, cheese, rice then topped it off with the mix and a little more cheese. It was soooo good. Yummmmmmy!!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Very easy and delicous recipe! I served it with the Cajun Spiced Chicken (also found on allrecipes.com)When I had put the sauce over the rice, I put cheddar chees on the top - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Loved it! I used fresh peppers & onions vs. frozen and added chopped fresh cilantro as well. I also used "Red Enchilada Sauce" (from this site). Tasty wrapped with a warm tortilla, or plain with cheese on top. A keeper, thanks Jaime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
delicious and so easy to make. I don't like peppers or onions so instead I added some canned corn. It was very flavorful- I think the kind of enchilada sauce used might make the difference. I used old el paso "hot" enchilada sauce. I still cant believe how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Delicious and a big hit with the family! I added the diced tomatoes with chiles and some corn as mentioned in earlier reviews. It's great for leftovers in burritos as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome--the diced tomatoes and corn really add to it. I would drain them both before putting them in so it doesn't turn into soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I took the suggestion of serving this with tortillas and it was extra delicious. I also took the liberty of adding garlic to the fresh peppers/onion saute. To finish, I used homemade enchilada sauce (courtesy of my mother-in-law), added some leftover shredded grilled chicken, and topped it off with sour cream and shredded cheese. Overall, a great meal and I look forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States