Jamie's Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Loved it! I used fresh peppers & onions vs. frozen and added chopped fresh cilantro as well. I also used "Red Enchilada Sauce" (from this site). Tasty wrapped with a warm tortilla, or plain with cheese on top. A keeper, thanks Jaime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
delicious and so easy to make. I don't like peppers or onions so instead I added some canned corn. It was very flavorful- I think the kind of enchilada sauce used might make the difference. I used old el paso "hot" enchilada sauce. I still cant believe how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Is it possible to use fresh instead of frozen green bell peppers and onions? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I liked the recipe, but it seemed to be missing something for me. I added a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Hmmmm...I really wanted to rate this higher, but the recipe made as written, in my opinion just did not have enough flavor. I used fresh veggies and sauteed them in olive oil. I had to add quite a bit of salt to acheive the flavor I like, and I served this in a warmed tortilla with shredded cheese like the previous reviewer suggested. I used store bought enchilada sauce, which I really like, but I'm wondering if I should have gone with homemade. I doubt it would have made that much of a difference. As far as being quick and inexpensive, it's deserving of all 5 stars, but the taste lacked something to be desired. I served this with picante sauce on the side. Maybe adding some more spices to the vegetables while their cooking would help. Glad I gave it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Suggestions: Saute rice in oil, add 1 package sazon and 2 tablespoon tomato (or the "red") sofrito, 1 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro, 1 tsp chopped garlic, stir around for a minute then add liquid (preferably chicken broth). Keep an eye on it and when it starts to thicken up, add the "drained" and "rinsed" (very important) black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Very easy and delicous recipe! I served it with the Cajun Spiced Chicken (also found on allrecipes.com)When I had put the sauce over the rice, I put cheddar chees on the top - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
5 stars with the following changes: One pot meal. In a large skillet, heat 1 Tbsp olive oil w/ 1 Tbsp butter. Add 1 cup uncooked rice, 1/2 cup green peeper, 1/2 cup red onion, 1/2 of a jalapeno & 1 clove minced garlic. Saute for 2 min. Add 2 cups water, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp salt. Bring water to a boil, stir rice, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Add 15 ounce can of black beans (drained and rinsed) and a 10 ounce can of green chili enchilada sauce. Let simmer 10 min. Serve with sour cream and mexican cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I took the suggestion of serving this with tortillas and it was extra delicious. I also took the liberty of adding garlic to the fresh peppers/onion saute. To finish, I used homemade enchilada sauce (courtesy of my mother-in-law), added some leftover shredded grilled chicken, and topped it off with sour cream and shredded cheese. Overall, a great meal and I look forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was easy to make and the boyfriend liked it enough to have a second helping, but I thought it was kind of gross...beans and (I used fresh) onions and peppers swimming in sauce. I used Las Palmas mild enchilada sauce, which I love for enchiladas, but it over powered the beans and made it way too runny. I'll stick to my usual: dried black beans cooked with green pepper, onion and ground oregano. Thanks for the idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States