Jamie's Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
delicious and so easy to make. I don't like peppers or onions so instead I added some canned corn. It was very flavorful- I think the kind of enchilada sauce used might make the difference. I used old el paso "hot" enchilada sauce. I still cant believe how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Pretty good and no meat needed to make this tasty dish. Instead of frozen grn peppers & onions, I substitued: 1 large green pepper, diced 1 large onion, diced. The recipe came out too wet, so at the end of cooking I added: 1 1/2 Tablespoons corn starch to 2 Tablespoons water and simmered a few minutes until thickened. The taste was enjoyably hot probably because I used a brand of black beans that had marked "with creole seasoning".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This was pretty good. I served this with bulgur instead of rice. For kicks, next time I'm going to try using a can of black beans and a can of kidney beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I made one change: I used fresh peppers instead of frozen. Otherwise, I followed it exactly, even using white rice when we otherwise only eat brown. And my family unanimously hated it. The enchilada sauce was overwhelming and everything just seemed to sort of float in it. My eats-everything husband didn't even want his and my children obediently ate their two bites and asked to be excused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Hmmmm...I really wanted to rate this higher, but the recipe made as written, in my opinion just did not have enough flavor. I used fresh veggies and sauteed them in olive oil. I had to add quite a bit of salt to acheive the flavor I like, and I served this in a warmed tortilla with shredded cheese like the previous reviewer suggested. I used store bought enchilada sauce, which I really like, but I'm wondering if I should have gone with homemade. I doubt it would have made that much of a difference. As far as being quick and inexpensive, it's deserving of all 5 stars, but the taste lacked something to be desired. I served this with picante sauce on the side. Maybe adding some more spices to the vegetables while their cooking would help. Glad I gave it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Loved it! I used fresh peppers & onions vs. frozen and added chopped fresh cilantro as well. I also used "Red Enchilada Sauce" (from this site). Tasty wrapped with a warm tortilla, or plain with cheese on top. A keeper, thanks Jaime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is very flavorful and good for you. A yummy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Very easy and delicous recipe! I served it with the Cajun Spiced Chicken (also found on allrecipes.com)When I had put the sauce over the rice, I put cheddar chees on the top - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I did not particularly like the flavor of this dish. A bit overrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Is it possible to use fresh instead of frozen green bell peppers and onions? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States