Jamie's Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This recipe was great! I used red beans because i didn't have black. I grilled a flour tortilla (yes, grilled! try it) just until crispy, put a layer of shredded chicken with salsa, cheese, rice then topped it off with the mix and a little more cheese. It was soooo good. Yummmmmmy!!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I took the suggestion of serving this with tortillas and it was extra delicious. I also took the liberty of adding garlic to the fresh peppers/onion saute. To finish, I used homemade enchilada sauce (courtesy of my mother-in-law), added some leftover shredded grilled chicken, and topped it off with sour cream and shredded cheese. Overall, a great meal and I look forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Awesome--the diced tomatoes and corn really add to it. I would drain them both before putting them in so it doesn't turn into soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Suggestions: Saute rice in oil, add 1 package sazon and 2 tablespoon tomato (or the "red") sofrito, 1 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro, 1 tsp chopped garlic, stir around for a minute then add liquid (preferably chicken broth). Keep an eye on it and when it starts to thicken up, add the "drained" and "rinsed" (very important) black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Delicious and a big hit with the family! I added the diced tomatoes with chiles and some corn as mentioned in earlier reviews. It's great for leftovers in burritos as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was easy to make and the boyfriend liked it enough to have a second helping, but I thought it was kind of gross...beans and (I used fresh) onions and peppers swimming in sauce. I used Las Palmas mild enchilada sauce, which I love for enchiladas, but it over powered the beans and made it way too runny. I'll stick to my usual: dried black beans cooked with green pepper, onion and ground oregano. Thanks for the idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My kids loved this. It was quick and easy. I used someone's suggestion to do corn instead of peppers and onions. I think creamed corn would have been better and thickened it up a little. My hubby wasn't home but my 3 yo said he has to have this later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I liked the recipe, but it seemed to be missing something for me. I added a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
It was an easy to make weekend meal, substituting the white rice for brown. I used fresh chopped onions and sauteed them with the thawed green peppers in olive oil. I thought it could have used a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I added hamburger to mine. Didn't have as much taste as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States