James Gang Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe is very good. I used butter flavor shortening and didn't use the butter flavor extract. I also doubled the cocoa powder to 4tbsp because I wanted to. Probably didn't use as much red coloring as I could have but the color has no bearing on the taste anyway. Initially I wasn't going to do the frosting but was intrigued by the technique of 'cooking' the milk with flour (had never done a frosting with flour in it). However, I made it with half cream cheese and half butter instead of shortening. It came a bit soft because the only cream cheese I had was fat-free... but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
absolutely perfect :D only change I made to the cake was to double the cocoa, and everyone loved it. I had to add some powder sugar to the frosting to stiffen it up a bit, and left off the nuts. I will definitely make this again and again. For those complaining over it having white fluffy frosting... originally this cake was supposed to be made with frosting like this... it is only recently that everyone started using cream cheese for it.... This is how it is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
First let me start off by saying I love, love red velvet cake. I made this cake for Thanksgiving and was sooo disappointed. The cake it self was okay but the frosting was not good.The directions for this cake's frosting will produce a vanillia whipped icing not the classic cream cheese icing used on real red velvet cakes. The cake was not moist but was very pretty in color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this cake today and it was awful, I followed the recipe exactly, it was dry and the taste was not good. What a disappointment I love red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This cake is amazing! I am always looking for recipes that can be easily modified to be "dairy free", so my milk allergic 4-year-old does not have to hear for the hundredth time that he cannot have something. I substituted a combination of vanilla soy milk + 1 tbsp lemon juice for the buttermilk in the cake and followed everything else exactly (except for using 1 oz of coloring instead of 2- still plenty red). I also substituted vanilla soy milk for the milk in the frosting, thickened up great and mixed in nicely. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I haven't tried it yet. I don't really like sweets, but I love making them. I did try the frosting and its so light and fluffy its wonderful. I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. In the directions it says to make two layers. I was a little confused on whether you layered frosting in between or just set it on top of each other. In the picture it doesn't look like it has frosting in between. But tha'ts how I did it so we will see how well its liked! I also added ALOT of red food dye and its hardly red at all, not sure how its so red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I am not a Red Velvet Cake fan, I must say this one I like. It was easy to make. I will try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I had been sitting for a little 4 year old, who came to Canada with her Mummy as refugees, from Haiti. She informed me that her Mummy never had a cake for her birthday 2 weeks ago, so together we baked a red velvet cake, using the James Gang recipe, and surprised her Mummy who was moved to tears, despite the icing decorating the plate instead of the cake!!We made the cake, using a large bundt pan, then split (easily) to create 2 layers. The cake was wonderful, everyone raved, but the icing was a complete flop, though it tasted good, despite having all run down the sides into the middle and the outside of the plate! Nevertheless, we decorated the runny icing with coloured stars sprinkles. Red velvet cake was a new experience for both of them; they don't usually eat chocolate so were shocked to learn that the cake contained cocoa! Thank you James gang for sharing this recipe, I will definitely make your red velvet cake again - with one small change to the instructions - I will add a bit of the buttermilk to the cocoa paste to make it easier to scrape the small bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States