Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Truly great recipe. I used this as more of a general instruction. I am from Louisiana, and agree with another reviewer when she said her husband said tomatoes do not go in jambalaya!! So I followed the basics and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight but I used leftover fried Cajun turkey from Christmas instead of chicken. Also added carrots to the veggie list. Quite tasty! Oh yeah....I have no idea what file powder is.... didn't use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
omitted file...great without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a fabulous meal! My father raved it was the best meal he's had in a long time even tho my mother is a terrific cook. Several in my family cannot eat garlic or too much hot spice so I made the following alterations: No Cajun or file spice - instead I used Smoked Paprika & Basil. Smoked kielbasa instead of Andouille. I also added a can of cream of chicken soup which gave it all a very yummy creamy smoked flavor. I served the rice on the side. It was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was delicious! Except my rice never fully cooked. I followed the directions to a T. I will definitely make this again, except after I add the rice and chicken broth I will cover the pot so the rice can steam and fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weslievt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to alter the recipe based on what I had in the pantry. What I ended up with was great. I cut the recipe in half and cut out all seasonings except for the Cajun seasoning. I used one can of Tomatoes with green chilies vs listed one. I also substituted all of the remaining ingredients and the rice for one bag of Spanish rice. I found that the dish was dry so I added the entire can of tomatoes with green chilies (would have called for 1/2 since the recipe was halved) to compensate. Nice recipe, I think I will make again just the way I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe has gotten a permanent place in our rotation - it is soooo good. I add more celery and onion and about half again as much of the andouille and its perfect every time. I think the file powder adds an authentic flavor that is worth adding if you can find it at your grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimPayne
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Wow! This was soooooo yummy and easy to prepare. I made it the first time for a small dinner party and it was a hit. The little bit of leftovers the next day heated up nicely and tasted terrific. You cannot not go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was super delicious! Even my super picky boyfriend liked it! I did not use the file powder, but just cooked it a little longer and it was not runny. I also used the whole can of crushed tomatoes. I will make this again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I've always been a Zataran's fan (boxed meals, shameful, I know, but that's what you eat when you're in college) but I really wanted to try making this on my own. This is a great recipe! I've made it a few times, now, and haven't even thought of the boxed stuff since (sorry, Zataran's. We had our time. And it was a good time. But I've moved on.)! Definitely COOK THE RICE SEPARATELY (I use the chicken broth in the rice). For one, it keeps the sausage from getting rubbery (I use kielbasa). Secondly, it keeps it all from getting too mushy. Also, I've never used file powder, but it still turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States