Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Loved this recipe - though I didn't make it as traditional jambalaya. I used hot italian sausage, and also threw in a couple of spare mushrooms that I had on hand. I also added a bit of the celery leaves, and some fresh parsley. I skipped the file powder as I did not have it on hand. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was delish and all 3 of my kids ate it! I did change up a few things. I used regular hot sausage and leftover rice that was already cooked. I condensed the chicken broth because it didn't need to absorb into the rice. I didn't have an onion on hand (rare), but used onion flakes. This was so yummy, and was great with cornbread! FAT TUESDAY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Left out the spicy parts (tabasco, red pepper flakes, black pepper, and swapped creole for cajun seasoning), also used one of the review suggestions and added shrimp at the end and increased the tomatoes to 28oz. Lastly, I used brown rice because we were out of white rice and I enjoyed the enhanced texture with the brown rice although it added to the overall cooking time by another 25 minutes. Deeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Savage
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good. It's quite spicy but not enough to make it inedible, just a slow burn...lol I added some small shrimp to it which made it even meatier. I cooked frozen small raw peeled deveined & tail-off shrimp with a little Cajun seasoning, just like the sausage & chicken & set it aside with the other meat. I only used 6oz but I could have used 12oz easily. The celery really needs a few extra min of cooking time by itself first, if possible. Even after finishing cooking for the entire time, the celery was still not quite tender. I would give the celery 5-10 min by itself before adding the onions & peppers, then add the garlic after that since garlic burns fast. Couldn't find 16oz cans of crushed tomatoes so I used 14.5oz diced Italian tomatoes & it was fine. I used just a tad over 1 1/4 cup of rice to empty my package so I added another 1/2 cup of broth & even with the smaller amount of tomatoes there was still plenty of liquid for the rice. If you follow the directions & bring it to a boil & then simmer for 25 min, it's perfect. Also had to leave out the file powder since I couldn't find it. It thickened fine on it's own. And just my preference, I reduced the red chili flakes & hot sauce to 1/4 tsp each. There was still plenty of spice! Oh, I just used regular vegetable oil for the meat & veggies instead of peanut oil...no problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very Good Recipe. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hooah2003
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was the first time I've cooked this recipe and it was amazing!! I would definately cook it again, but maybe add shrimp. My 3 year old son gave a helping hand by assisting with the stirring duties. He then helped with a taste test, it wasn't super spicy, which was great! Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Awesome! I added shrimp and substituted chorizo for the andouille. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pic2548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe. Added more broth, a little more rice and a pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
didnt use file powder and added shrimp after i steamed them and my kids loved it but would like to omit red pepper flakes alittle too spicy for little ones and did do the rice in pot with mixture and rice was fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe. I did not follow the recipe because it didn't seem necessary. By this I mean is that I added the chicken and sausage together and let them cook through with the Cajun seasoning. I then added the vegetables and garlic listed and cooked for another 5 minutes. After that I added the tomatoes, Worchester sauce, hot sauce and other seasonings. I let that cook for 10 minutes. I added the rice and broth as instructed and put a lid on it for 20 minutes. It came out great and the rice wasn't underdone. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will be making it often. BTW-I didn't have any file powder and I don't think it exists up here in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States