Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Wow. This recipe is the bomb.com! I made this recipe, EXACTLY the way it was published, and it was spot on. Whoever posted this is a freakin prodigy. I love you!!!! P.S. take a tums before you eat this. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Keithline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teddywah
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I don't use peanut oil, I use olive oil. Cooking at medium does not require a high smoke point oil. I use hot Italian sausage and lots more than the recipe calls for. I also use a larger can of crushed tomatoes and more chicken broth. Even if I could find file powder I would not use it. I throw in a small can of tomato paste if it needs thickening and just simmer it longer. Having said all that, it is a very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Boneless, skinless thighs would be much moister than breasts. The andouille I get is already very spicy, so seasoning it is really unnecessary. As far as hot pepper sauce goes, I find that leaving it up to the individual works better than adding it to the pot, especially as, depending on the sauce, a lot of the flavor can get cooked away. This recipe makes a lot more than I thought it would. If the rice is coming out crunchy, make sure you're using white rice, and that once you have brought the concoction to a boil, reduced the heat and covered, that you do not uncover until the dish is done, 20 to 25 minutes after covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very easy to make. I added shrimp the last 6 min of cooking time. I did not use file powder and used celery salt instead of chopped celery. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
this took me forever today and thats because I waited till I had 2 chicken carcasses to make the stock. I was a jerk and used this as the frame work and LOVE how it turned out. If it wasnt for this recipe I wouldnt have this dinner tonight. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. They only thing I did different was sauté my onions and peppers with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I love this recipe even my picky husband was impressed. I used skinless boneless chicken thighs and I cooked the rice with the chicken broth separately. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Threw in shrimp and used some chipotle Tabasco and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika for an extra kick and it turned out amazing. Great dish to bring for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe. It was a huge hit! I followed it step by step and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So delicious! Made it with vegan sausage and leftover tofu. For those having issues with crunchy rice, turn down the heat and cover your pot. I made this in a lidded dutch oven cooking on low heat, turned out moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States