Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
All in all this is a good variation. I.stead od tomatoes, i recommend using Rotel tomatos and diced chili. I use nothing else. And save the file powder for the gumbo. It does not belong in jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darin Hymel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Wow. This recipe is the bomb.com! I made this recipe, EXACTLY the way it was published, and it was spot on. Whoever posted this is a freakin prodigy. I love you!!!! P.S. take a tums before you eat this. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Keithline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teddywah
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I don't use peanut oil, I use olive oil. Cooking at medium does not require a high smoke point oil. I use hot Italian sausage and lots more than the recipe calls for. I also use a larger can of crushed tomatoes and more chicken broth. Even if I could find file powder I would not use it. I throw in a small can of tomato paste if it needs thickening and just simmer it longer. Having said all that, it is a very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Boneless, skinless thighs would be much moister than breasts. The andouille I get is already very spicy, so seasoning it is really unnecessary. As far as hot pepper sauce goes, I find that leaving it up to the individual works better than adding it to the pot, especially as, depending on the sauce, a lot of the flavor can get cooked away. This recipe makes a lot more than I thought it would. If the rice is coming out crunchy, make sure you're using white rice, and that once you have brought the concoction to a boil, reduced the heat and covered, that you do not uncover until the dish is done, 20 to 25 minutes after covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very easy to make. I added shrimp the last 6 min of cooking time. I did not use file powder and used celery salt instead of chopped celery. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
this took me forever today and thats because I waited till I had 2 chicken carcasses to make the stock. I was a jerk and used this as the frame work and LOVE how it turned out. If it wasnt for this recipe I wouldnt have this dinner tonight. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. They only thing I did different was sauté my onions and peppers with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I love this recipe even my picky husband was impressed. I used skinless boneless chicken thighs and I cooked the rice with the chicken broth separately. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Threw in shrimp and used some chipotle Tabasco and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika for an extra kick and it turned out amazing. Great dish to bring for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe. It was a huge hit! I followed it step by step and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States