Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
A family favorite! All three kids (4-12 years old) love jambalaya nigh - as do the adults. This makes great leftovers for lunches during the week at work. The spices are a great mix in this recipe. We cut down on them a touch for two of our kids, but the third likes it spicy! He actually adds more tabasco! We play around with adding more veggies and switching out the meats based on what we have on hand. Currently using Jenny'O turkey kielbasa with/without chicken and/or shrimp. We always use brown rice - that's all we buy - and it still tastes great. Excellent recipe - has the honor of being in our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banyan99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good flavor. Followed the recipe exact except for the file powder. Coudn't find it at the local market. So I substituted with a teaspoon of corn starch. Family thought it was good as well, however, the kids thought it had a little to much heat. Next time I'll back of the heat some for the kids sake. :) I will be making this dish again... Very tasty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thanks Terri for a great recipe. Very tasty and just the right amount of spice. You can always add some hot sauce at the table. Used canola oil instead of peanut oil, but that didn't change anything. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent. Great flavor - spiced it up a bit to taste, but all in all, wonderful, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! Can't get italian seasoned crushed tomatoes where I am so I used diced instead - I liked the texture of the diced better anyways. The taste would change a lot depending on the hot sauce used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This the best Jambalaya I have ever made or tasted. I didn't change a thing. I have to feed 500 people and can't wait for everyone to try it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Easy & Delicious! My first attempt was a success. I even found a recipe for making cajun spice by another contributor, so I didn't have to go to the store. I substituted pulled pork for the chicken and added it when you add the cooked chicken. It was fantastic and smelled so good. Nice to have had everything already on hand (including spices)... Thank you Terri for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutest Pumpkin

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
this was really good but a little too spicy. i made it exactly at it says, next time i will leave out the hot pepper sauce or the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe was great! I am from Lousisiana but live in Oregon and it was very authentic. I had friends over for dinner and everyone was oohing and ahhing over it! I couldn't find peanut oil so I used pure sesame oil and also I couldn't find the file powder. I followed everything else and it was absolutely amazing! Loved it and definately will be making it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My husband and I love this recipe! I didn't use the file powder but it was thick enough without it. Also, I've used both olive oil and peanut oil and both worked. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States