Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I do love this recipe -- I serve the rice separate. But none of the recipes I read have okra as an ingredient. To me, you HAVE to add okra -- that is the only change I made! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The first time I made this recipe the rice was too mushy, after adjusting the liquid to rice ratio (basically the same ratio I use for all my Puertorican rice dishes) it was 100 percent better. Didn't use the file powder, instead I used 50/50 (whole tomato and tomato puree), to keep the salt content low, and added shrimp at the last 5 minutes of cooking (to prevent the shrimp from being rubbery). I had great reviews from people except from the wife (she doesn't care for shellfish). The second time I made it, without the shrimp, the wife loved it. I say be creative and add a little fish sauce for those who don't like shrimp or seafood. (The third time I made this dish poured a little fish sauce and the wife didn't notice the difference) This is an awesome dish and well worth the time making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Slow_Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Love this recipie! Delicious, its part of our regular meals =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
this is great. I added some cayene pepper for some extra heat and sub'ed the salt for celery salt. I cooked the rice seperate with tomatoes and black beans. I added shrimp at the last few minutes of cooking the meat and veggie mix. I also didn't bother with the file powder. This is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefboydo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
All I can say is..... yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was incredible and made six extremely generous servings. I substituted canned pureed tomatoes for the crushed tomatoes since my husband prefers no tomato chunks. Another reviewer mentioned substituting tomato sauce, but several said the dish was on the thin side, so thought the puree would do the trick. Also used quinoa instead of rice since I am all into quinoa right now. When reheating it the next day it had thickened considerably in the 'fridge, and was really too thick to reheat easily on the stove top. I mixed in a can of tomato sauce ... perfection. It was even better the next day. This will definitely make it into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
My boyfriend loves cajun cooking. I surprised him with this recipe one day and he said it was the best jambalaya he's ever had. I did tweak the recipe a bit. I only used the andouille to lighten it up a bit. I also used canned tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes because I don't like chunk of tomatoes. Also, I had great results sautéing the sausage in a bit of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday today and everyone loved it. Just enough spice to keep the southerners happy and not completely burn out the rest. Great creole flavor and didn't take as long as expected. It was a bit jucier than what I'm used to, but I found some ways to getting around that. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good. I backed off on the hot sauce a bit, since I am more of a "medium" heat kind of a girl. Used canned turkey instead of raw chicken, since that is what I had. Threw in some small shrimp with there were just a couple of minutes left. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
excellent flavour, easy to make. will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States