Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by teddywah
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I don't use peanut oil, I use olive oil. Cooking at medium does not require a high smoke point oil. I use hot Italian sausage and lots more than the recipe calls for. I also use a larger can of crushed tomatoes and more chicken broth. Even if I could find file powder I would not use it. I throw in a small can of tomato paste if it needs thickening and just simmer it longer. Having said all that, it is a very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Boneless, skinless thighs would be much moister than breasts. The andouille I get is already very spicy, so seasoning it is really unnecessary. As far as hot pepper sauce goes, I find that leaving it up to the individual works better than adding it to the pot, especially as, depending on the sauce, a lot of the flavor can get cooked away. This recipe makes a lot more than I thought it would. If the rice is coming out crunchy, make sure you're using white rice, and that once you have brought the concoction to a boil, reduced the heat and covered, that you do not uncover until the dish is done, 20 to 25 minutes after covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very easy to make. I added shrimp the last 6 min of cooking time. I did not use file powder and used celery salt instead of chopped celery. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
this took me forever today and thats because I waited till I had 2 chicken carcasses to make the stock. I was a jerk and used this as the frame work and LOVE how it turned out. If it wasnt for this recipe I wouldnt have this dinner tonight. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. They only thing I did different was sauté my onions and peppers with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I love this recipe even my picky husband was impressed. I used skinless boneless chicken thighs and I cooked the rice with the chicken broth separately. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Threw in shrimp and used some chipotle Tabasco and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika for an extra kick and it turned out amazing. Great dish to bring for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe. It was a huge hit! I followed it step by step and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So delicious! Made it with vegan sausage and leftover tofu. For those having issues with crunchy rice, turn down the heat and cover your pot. I made this in a lidded dutch oven cooking on low heat, turned out moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Mmmmmm, this was really good! I didn't have file powder, I'm not sure it would be readily available way up here in Canada. I was out of celery and I used chorizo, chicken, ham and shrimp with a 28 ounce can if diced tomatoes. I cooked the rice separately also due to texture preference. I didn't add the red pepper flakes because it smelled spicy while it was cooking and I was worried it would be too spicy for the kids. I tasted it before adding shrimp at the end and it was rich and delicious. Spooning the jambalaya over the rice mellowed the flavour so perhaps it wouldn't have been too spicy with the red pepper flakes after all but it was still so delicious. I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States