Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I have made this twice and love it! Both times i have added shrimp when adding in the rice. Even the leftovers are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
It was clean out the fridge day at my house tonight, and this fit the bill perfectly! I used two chicken breasts, a pack of raw fennel and pancetta sausage, onion, garlic, sweet peppers, a can of whole tomatoes, a can of kidney beans, a couple splashes of soy sauce, vegetable broth and just under a tablespoon of cajun seasoning. That's it! I am sure it wasn't authentic but it was delicious! This is a great recipe that is forgiving and very easy to adapt to what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This is my go to recipe for company, and it always get rave reviews. I follow it to a T ant it is perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I tried this recipe last year. My family begs me for it all the time. I add more hot sauce than what it calls for and occasionally add Slap Ya Mama seasoning when we want it extra spicy. They LOVE it! Also, I use the rice that you boil in the bag and cook it first then add it at as I get ready to serve it. Turns out amazing every time!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I make this after we get a rotisserie chicken. We eat all the white meat separately and then I pull all the dark meat off the chicken, remove the skin, chop it up and freeze it for later. I use Adelle's Andoullie. Brown rice doesn't get cooked. Maybe in the future, I'll cook the brown rice separate and add it, but I like white basmati rice and push the broth up to 3 full cups. Cajun cuisine is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jez the Mez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Great recipe as written. The second time I doubled the tomatoes just as a personal preference. For those "purists" who say no tomatoes in jambalaya, that is a basic difference between Cajun and Creole style cooking; Creole uses tomatoes, Cajun not so. And finally, for those who complain about crunchy rice, switch to parboiled whenever you are cooking rice in a dish rather than separately. It makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Fabulous! Didn't have file on hand, so after removing the meats and before adding the vegetables, I took a few minutes to add flour to the oil in the pot and cook up a quick roux, then proceeded with the recipe as written, except for adding a handful of raw shrimp with the rice. I did have to add extra liquid and cook it longer so the rice would cook all the way through. In the end, it was delicious and the right consistency. Cleared out my sinuses too, so the spice level was right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This recipe is delicious! I used venison sausage and quinoa(was out of rice) and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elke Schweikert
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Didn't have andouille so used shrimp - didn't have celery on hand so left that out. Used 2 cans diced tomato instead of crushed. Didn't have gumbo seasoning but used tony chachere seasoning instead which made it spicy. Overall- took longer to reduce. Spicy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elke Schweikert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Followed the recipe exact. Came out great! Only thing was I felt it was too salty for my liking so will definitely ease up on the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States