Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hooah2003
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was the first time I've cooked this recipe and it was amazing!! I would definately cook it again, but maybe add shrimp. My 3 year old son gave a helping hand by assisting with the stirring duties. He then helped with a taste test, it wasn't super spicy, which was great! Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Awesome! I added shrimp and substituted chorizo for the andouille. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pic2548

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe. Added more broth, a little more rice and a pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
didnt use file powder and added shrimp after i steamed them and my kids loved it but would like to omit red pepper flakes alittle too spicy for little ones and did do the rice in pot with mixture and rice was fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe. I did not follow the recipe because it didn't seem necessary. By this I mean is that I added the chicken and sausage together and let them cook through with the Cajun seasoning. I then added the vegetables and garlic listed and cooked for another 5 minutes. After that I added the tomatoes, Worchester sauce, hot sauce and other seasonings. I let that cook for 10 minutes. I added the rice and broth as instructed and put a lid on it for 20 minutes. It came out great and the rice wasn't underdone. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will be making it often. BTW-I didn't have any file powder and I don't think it exists up here in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made a vegan version using Tofurky's andouille sausage. I also added roasted corn on the cob (4) cut into about two-inch long wheels to replace the chicken. Vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Okra was not to be found this week so subbed fresh green beans. It was SO delicious! The seasoning of this recipe was perfect. Just spicy enough without overshadowing all the yummy flavors. I used Korean garlic sriracha-style chili sauce for the hot pepper sauce and it worked well. Also subbed corn starch for file powder since I didn't have any on hand. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Maybe a little more diced tomato. Otherwise, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe because it seemed so basic, but it was amazing!!! I added shrimp and a bit more stock and it was amazing! I could not find file powder, but even with out it, the flavors just pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethanyH
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Very tasty!! The only differences i made was: I did not use file powder, and I cooked yellow rice in the chicken broth prior to adding it to the rest of the ingredients - delicious! Has the perfect amount of spice to it! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Pretty spicy! The kids loved it and it was surprisingly easy. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States