Jambalaya with Fresh Fruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Wow! This recipe truly is a 5-star winner. Following the submitter's review about not including apple in the original submission, I left it out. I agree with others, that it would not have been as good with the apple, but was WONDERFUL with everything but the apple. For the wine, I used sherry, and it was perfect. I'll definitely be adding this to my short list of recipes good enough for special guests. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Yum. I used just fresh pineapple and mango. Chose regular smoked sausage and cooked it all in one pan, an enamel coated dutch oven. After first oven cooking, rice looked dry so added the remaining petite diced tomatoes from a 15 ounce can and a few ounces more white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Yummy! I used Quinoa instead of the Rice since that's what I had. I also didn't bother putting it in the oven, just did it all in the saucepan on the stove. Only used pineapple (not other fruits) as others suggested. Sub'd turkey sausage (pre-cooked so added at end just after the shrimp was almost done cooking)... turned out great. Also used small yellow/red sweet peppers instead of green pepper and 1/2 a jalapeno. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this without the apple, and doubled both the mango and pineapple. It was delish! A little Jamaican jerk hot sauce on the side helped for those in the family that like a little extra spice. A new family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Made this for dinner and really enjoyed the flavor, however the rice did not cook entirely. Not sure if it was the type of rice I used (traditional long grain brown), or if the ratio of liquid to rice was incorrect. Overall, enjoyed the combination in this jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I used Ingredient Search for pineapple, chicken and sausage. This is the only recipe that came up. I read to the end, and almost cried when I saw "apples" and "mango." I thought the author of the recipe was going overboard. Just the pineapple would have been sufficient. Glad to hear the author didn't add those two atrocious ingredients. I made this dish WITHOUT the apples and mango, and it came out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I submitted this recipe and it was changed by the all recipe people. I only called for pineapple, not mango and apple. I think that with all that fruit, I would have to agree with the earlier review that it is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The jambalaya without fruit wasn't bad it was ok. With the fruit unfortunately it really wasn't very good!! Sorry but I would pass on this one :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States