Jambalaya Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I don't know, I just couldn't get past the cold jambalaya concept. Being a huge fan of the stuff, I figured I could easily gobble it down. I omitted the bacon, salt, canned shrimp, and ham, but I cooked up two Andouille sausage links and sliced and then quartered them. I also added some Langostino I got from Trader Joe's. To give it a more jambalaya taste, I added Cajun seasoning, and about 1 cup of sliced okra. Something about the dressing didn't quite please my taste buds, and I'm not sure what. It's a shame, because I doubled the recipe so I could take it to work as my lunch all week, but now I don't think I could eat it. Sorry for the poor review Louis; I guess this recipe isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe, but use the advice from the reviewers. 1. Do not use canned shrimp (ever). 2. Use Zatarains jambalaya mix for the rice. 3. Replace ham with kielbasa. 4. Replace salt with cajun seasoning. 5. Mix the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Excellent as a light dinner on a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
THIS WAS A VERY GOOD BASE FOR JAMBALAYA SALAD. MADE LOTS OF CHANGES. BUT OVER ALL IT WAS VERY GOOD JUST NOT GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This recipe is great as is(except for canned shrimp) but with a few changes it's fantastic. I use 1 family size or 2 reg. size Zatarain's Jambalaya Mix prepared with out adding the shrimp or ham. I use 1/2-1 lb of fresh or frozen shrimp, green onions,and Cajun spice in place of salt. Dependimg on who I am serving I also add cayenne to the dressing. Sometime I add some sliced pickled okra for an authentic Jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I really liked this recipe, it was delicious even though I omitted the bacon and used Cajun seasoning instead of salt. I also added a few large 'langostino' shrimp, to add more seafood flavour. Thanks for this, I will be making it again during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This salad is awesome! As others suggested, I used fresh shrimp, kielbasa, and substituted 1/2 t. Zatarans Cajun Seasoning for the salt. I also used red pepper instead of green, and added green onion and chopped baby carrot for color. We'll be having this a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
No canned shrimp used in my dinner! I used fresh small shrimp and went with all the suggestions and used kielbasa instead of ham. You must add some creole spice to make it a true "jambalaya." Fabulous the next day, as everyone else mentioned! It's so helpful to have all the reviewers' suggestions, isn't it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious! Better the next day but it is good any day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I agree with others, that it definitely is better the next day. I had to modify my recipe since I do not eat pork..i saw that someone used kielbasa instead of ham, so i used tureky kielbalsa and turkey bacon. I aslo used the frozen instead of canned shrimp and Zataran's Creole Seasoning instead of rice as others have done. I also used brown rice. It was still excellent! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States