Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Maybe I screwed this recipe up, but I didn't like it much at all. There wasn't very much rice, so it was basically a bunch of onions, peppers, and meat with a little bit of rice in between. Also, the recipe wasn't very specific about how much rice to use, and it didn't say whether or not to drain the tomatoes, so my jamalaya was very soupy. It also took longer to cook than it said it would. The flavor was great, however; the spices made it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
All I had to compare this to was a dish of jambalaya I had at a restaurant. This recipe definitely met if not exceeded my expectations. I did as most people seemed to be doing and used boneless chicken breasts. I also substituted crushed chiles for the cayenne, hot Italian sausage for the smoked and jasmine rice for teh white rice. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Awesome recipe. I doubled it, added shrimp, used andouille sausage, and added a lot more cayenne, red hot, and chili because I like it very hot, and I used a little less of the broth because I like it thick. I might not boil the sausage first next time, to keep more of the flavor in the meat, and not in the broth, because I tossed some of it anyway, but it was very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruddegger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
So bad I'm at a loss for words and don't know where to start! Real jambalaya is better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love good Cajun food. With this recipe and the help of a dear friend I took som Jambalaya to a party. All I took home was an empy pot!! I oftem times will spice up a recipe cuz I like A LOT of flavor. But this one does a pretty good job on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Great recipe. My family is from Louisiana and we always added shrimp to ours. So, I did and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is a very good and easy to make. Instead of boiling a whole chicken, we bought chicken breasts and cubed them. We then sauteed the chicken and sausage along with the peppers, onions, and garlic. We used low sodium/low fat chicken broth as well, and we could not tell that we used low sodium chicken broth. I would suggest making more rice with this though, probably doubling it because it makes a lot of jamalaya. We are looking forward to making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
We tried this last night and were VERY disappointed. I froze the leftovers (makes a large batch) and don't know if we'll even eat it. Maybe I did something wrong, but followed the recipe pretty much to the letter. We didn't find much flavor and the only flavors we tasted were the sausage & shrimp. I'm still looking for a good jambalya -- this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Pretty good and easy to make but it seemed like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Fantastic and very easy! My friends ask me to bring it to parties, tailgates, camping, etc. Like others, I did make some minor modifications, following their lead. To save time, I bought a rotisserie chicken from the store, used andouille sausage and added a 1 lb of chopped cooked shrimp. Also, I used only 1 pepper and doubled the chicken broth. Definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States