Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe was good, but there were some things I would have liked to change. First off, I only used 1 can of tomatos plus the tomato paste and it was STILL way to tomatoey. The rice took much longer than 20 minutes to cook as well just as a heads up. Overall, it was still good. I added some okra and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Nice recipe! Only a few recommendations. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time and add flavor, which turned out well. I also added 1/2 lb of frozen already cooked shrimp. If you wish to spend a little more I would recommend fresh shrimp as mine got a little tough once it was time to reheat it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Molly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was super delicious! The only thing I had problems with were some parts of the recipe which weren't noted (don't use the all the liquid from the can of tomatoes, cover the pot after the rice is added to cook, and it definitely took WAY more than 20 minutes to cook the rice). The rice was definitely the most troublesome part,...I think it would have been much better off to make separately and just add it in afterwards to combine. Rice will still get all the flavor. Added more cayanne, pepper, salt and a bit of cumin as well. Overall, excellent starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Was really good, but the spice combination felt a little shallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Fabulous! This was my first time making jambalaya that didn't involve a Zatarain's box :). Like some other reviewers, I used chicken breasts. I added seasonings to the chicken broth, as well. I used Trader Joe's andouille chicken sausage, and browned it in the pot along with the green peppers. I omitted the onion and used onion powder instead. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. This is delicious, and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and is was sooooo good. This is the first time I have ever made a jambalaya. My husband and I really enjoyed it. I will make it again in the near future. I have read the reviews of this recipe and they were all very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great, tasty recipe. Reminds me of my time in Louisiana many tears ago. Now I need some crawfish, redfish or catfish to go with it. Next time I will add shrimp to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was awesome! I've never made jambalaya before so was a little nervous, but it came out wonderful. My husband loved it and even went back for seconds (he never eats seconds). The next day he ate the leftovers for lunch (didn't even save me any, lol). This is a new favorite... can't wait to make it for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is one fantastic dish. I have made it 4 or 5 times, for family, in-laws and friends. Always gets high praise. I make sure to make my stock with the whole chicken (skin-on) and at least a pound of hot Italian sausage. Using this as the broth brings out a rich flavor. The heat is good, and always available for increase or decrease depending on taste. Definitely make rice separately. Everyone has different opinion on amount of rice needed. Let them add their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
excellent flavor, beautiful presentation, i cooked it for a big group of people and the all loved it. it can be spicy so choose your audience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States