Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I never tried to make this before and it was easier than I thought but it did take me longer than what the recipe stated so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is wonderful! I've never made Jambalaya before But I really like this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe does taste good, but it doesn't really have the "jambalaya" flavor I was looking for. Instead, it seems to taste more like a cross between chili (chicken version) and spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a really great recipe. It does take longer to cook the rice than the recipe dictates. Amazing, cost effective recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by College Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is, hands down, the best jambalaya recipe I've made. I have been making this one for a few months now (just realized I never reviewed it). It is WELL worth the time it takes to prepare. I never measure my spices and this dish allows me to do just that. I sometimes add in more rice, counter that with more fresh stock. More cajun seasoning, less cayenne, whatever we are in the mood for that day. It is also a relatively cheap meal if you consider how much food it makes (again, sometimes using more rice than called for). Leftovers are fantastic with a little broth splashed in while reheating. Pair this with some cornbread and you've got some full kids with warm bellies. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
the recipe was a great dinner for a small crowd. I cooked the chicken in the oven for some added quickness and then added an Anaheim pepper for a little kick>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe was good, but there were some things I would have liked to change. First off, I only used 1 can of tomatos plus the tomato paste and it was STILL way to tomatoey. The rice took much longer than 20 minutes to cook as well just as a heads up. Overall, it was still good. I added some okra and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Nice recipe! Only a few recommendations. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time and add flavor, which turned out well. I also added 1/2 lb of frozen already cooked shrimp. If you wish to spend a little more I would recommend fresh shrimp as mine got a little tough once it was time to reheat it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Molly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was super delicious! The only thing I had problems with were some parts of the recipe which weren't noted (don't use the all the liquid from the can of tomatoes, cover the pot after the rice is added to cook, and it definitely took WAY more than 20 minutes to cook the rice). The rice was definitely the most troublesome part,...I think it would have been much better off to make separately and just add it in afterwards to combine. Rice will still get all the flavor. Added more cayanne, pepper, salt and a bit of cumin as well. Overall, excellent starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Was really good, but the spice combination felt a little shallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States