Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Good stuff. Use some Tasso Ham and Andouille Sausage instead of the smoked sausage if you can get your hands on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Delicious flavor, but I simmered for over an hour and could NOT get the rice cooked thoroughly. I loved it anyway, but next time I'm going to make the rice separately until just cooked, then simmer in the Jambalaya for a while for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I never tried to make this before and it was easier than I thought but it did take me longer than what the recipe stated so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is wonderful! I've never made Jambalaya before But I really like this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe does taste good, but it doesn't really have the "jambalaya" flavor I was looking for. Instead, it seems to taste more like a cross between chili (chicken version) and spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a really great recipe. It does take longer to cook the rice than the recipe dictates. Amazing, cost effective recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by College Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is, hands down, the best jambalaya recipe I've made. I have been making this one for a few months now (just realized I never reviewed it). It is WELL worth the time it takes to prepare. I never measure my spices and this dish allows me to do just that. I sometimes add in more rice, counter that with more fresh stock. More cajun seasoning, less cayenne, whatever we are in the mood for that day. It is also a relatively cheap meal if you consider how much food it makes (again, sometimes using more rice than called for). Leftovers are fantastic with a little broth splashed in while reheating. Pair this with some cornbread and you've got some full kids with warm bellies. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
the recipe was a great dinner for a small crowd. I cooked the chicken in the oven for some added quickness and then added an Anaheim pepper for a little kick>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe was good, but there were some things I would have liked to change. First off, I only used 1 can of tomatos plus the tomato paste and it was STILL way to tomatoey. The rice took much longer than 20 minutes to cook as well just as a heads up. Overall, it was still good. I added some okra and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Nice recipe! Only a few recommendations. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time and add flavor, which turned out well. I also added 1/2 lb of frozen already cooked shrimp. If you wish to spend a little more I would recommend fresh shrimp as mine got a little tough once it was time to reheat it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Molly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States