Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Awesome recipe. Took more time than indicated on recipe though. Give yourself a good hour and a half once you start putting it all together. Used chicken breasts and boiled them alone. Used italian sausage, baking it in the oven at 325 degrees for about 45 minutes. Did cook the chicken and sausage the day before and refrigerated as suggested. Added 1/2 pound of fresh, pre-cooked shrimp with the meat. Flavor is mild enough that there is a kick but won't send you running for the water. If you like your food hot I would add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This recipe is unbelievable!!! I make it for my husband & usually within a day or two he has completely polished it off (by himself!!!). The only suggestion I can offer is to make this a little easier and faster, I've never stewed the chicken. I will just take cooked chicken breasts & combine everything at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Add a pound of shrimp to this the last five minutes and it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I've always loved jambalaya, but never thought it could be so easy to make. Now I make it on a regular basis, my husband and I enjoy it very much. Since neither of us like sausage I use raw deveined shrimp, and toss them in during the rice cooking stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This is the PERFECT for someone who hasn't cooked cajun food before. It provides an excelent Jambalaya base which stands on its own very well. Also, and perhapse more importantly, it gives you a nice general recipie to build off of and create your own dishes with whatever's around. Tons of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This is a winner. It took me about 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. I used chicken breast, Eckridge beef smoked sausage, and added shrimp at the end. I had only tomato sauce rather than paste and it worked out just fine. I also used about a cup and a half of rice and increased the stock accordingly. I don't think you can mess this one up - just stick with the basic recipe and add or delete spices as you like. I added salt and pepper and a few shakes of creole seasoning. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I cook a lot of different types of Jambalaya (vegetarian, spicy, pasta, etc.) and this is a very good recipe. I used chicken cutlets; browned them (on both sides with a little bit of the spices from the recipe), cut them into chunks, and added them for the last 15-25 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This has become a regular in our home! Make it with Healthy Choice sausage, and it's delicious AND healthy. I always substitute one green bell pepper for a red one, stir in a pound of pre-cooked shrimp during the last few minutes of cooking, and stir in generous amounts of Texas Pete hot sauce. Substitue Rotel for canned tomatoes for more of a kick. Yum! A meal in itself, unless I'm serving more than two, and then corn muffins (with jalapeno) and gumbo are a perfect match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This is great. I added some salt and pepper and a lot more hot sauce! Served with "Rory's Most Wonderful Corn Bread" recipe from this site. Both were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Worth the time and effort. This recipe makes quite a bit, so I freeze half for later. We have served this to a crowd with rave reviews. Be sure to cook the rice long enough, I found that it took much longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States