Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This recipe is great!! I did make a few changes, but very minor ones, I only used one onion, I cooked my rice separately, used chicken broth instead of the water and spiced it up with Zatarains cajun seasoning after adding the meat. My husband LOVES it and him being from the north east and never have had Jambalaya, I was happy to hear him ask for it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My husband enjoyed this, but it looks like I'm the minority on this one since I thought it was on the bland side. You'll definitely need to adjust the spices and add some salt and pepper. Thyme and hot (spicy) smoked sausage links would probably be a nice addition as well. I would also suggest not boiling the sausage but adding it to the pot later to retain more of it's flavor since you end up not using all of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very nice jambalaya. It was my first ever attempt and it turned out quite nice. I might add a bit more rice/broth next time - very intense with lots of meat and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We've tried this recipe many, many times and really like it. As a matter of fact, many of my friends and neighbors have asked for the recipe after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Wow this was good. I made modifications; I used 6 italian sausage links and 2 cups of rice, with 2 cups of chicken broth. It was wonderfully thick and spicy. This recipe was also very easy to make and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I used 2 lbs chicken (thighs were on sale so I used them instead of a whole chicken), 1 lb andoiulle (cajun)sausage, and 3/4 lb shrimp. I took everyone's advice and omitted one green pepper. It was absolutely perfect, will add to the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was very good! Made with no rice. Will add shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made this for my daughter's french class for Mardi Gras a couple of wks ago. It was a big hit with her class! I used chicken thighs, 8 of them ,49 cents a lb. that wk so it was very inexpensive to make. I didn't use as many green peppers because they are expensive right now and I used 1/2 the amt of bay leaves. The spices were right on target, not too spicy for the school kids and I served the rice on the side! The rest of the ingredients stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I changed a few things, I used cut up chicken breasts, polska Kielbasa and I 1 red pepper instead of 3 green peppers. It turned out really good. It had a spice to it , but it was just enough. I do not like spicy food, but I enjoyed this very much. I also made it "low carb" by leaving out the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Excellent! The only thing I do different is I like to double the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States