Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I didn't use a whole chicken, I used two boneless chicken breasts and I added shrimp. And this was spectacular!!! People couldn't stop telling me how great it was. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This is absolutely the best!!!! I have made several times & the recipe is always requested by everyone.I do not use a whole chicken, I use a combo of boneless/skinless breast & thighs & use chicken base for the broth. I do add shrimp & use "bahama mama" sausage, I have also substituted barley for the rice. YUM-YUM!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was very good, I used a rotisserie chicken from the store since I just bought it, this saved a lot of time.For broth I used swanson natural goodness chicken broth. I also added a little diced ham and used lite smoked sausage. The lite sausage did not seem to affect the taste at all. Since all the meat was already cooked I just skipped the first part of the recipe and went straight to cooking the onions and green peppers. I didn't make it too spicy and my son liked it a lot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMYSNOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Excellent! It was a last minute decision to make this, so I didn't boil the chicken. Instead, I cut up boneless, skinless breasts and pan fried them with andouille sausage in some olive oil. Before doing that, I sprinkled them with some cajun seasoning. I used red, yellow, and green peppers (leftovers from the previous night's meal) which gave it a lot of color. I omitted the tomato paste and it still tasted great. I used brown rice in place of white, and I used chicken bouillon since I didn't make any homemade broth. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Amazingly good. We didn't use chicken, but did use chicken stock at the liquid, and put about a pound of shrimp in at the end. We also added shiracha sauce. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I broke my vegetarian diet to try shrimp jambalaya. I picked this recipe due to its reviews and added 3/4 pound of pre-cooked shrimp in lieu of the chicken and sausage (I also cut the recipe in half). It was good, but not fantastic. I have never had jambalaya before and I expected something a lot thicker and spicier. Then again, perhaps the meats in the original recipe would have yielded more thickness and flavor. Next time I make it, I think I'll use more pre-cooked shrimp, torn up into small pieces to absorb the flavor, as well as adding more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I make this often but I make it in half the time by using a rotisserie chicken, chicken broth and cooked rice. Not only does it take the cooking time down but it also makes certain that all the rice grains are fully cooked. The problem with using uncooked rice is that some of the grains of rice were raw when done. OH and you need to add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Everyone in my household really liked this. This was my first experience cooking cajun type food, although I'd seen Justin Wilson and Emeril do it at least a hundred times... My husband and son want me to add shrimp too the next time I make this. I cooked 4 chicken breasts with the andouille sausage slices in 2 cans of chicken broth. I did not have plain white rice, so I used Jasmine rice, this dish was very forgiving and it worked out great. This is better than my mom's jambalaya. Thanks for a great recipe. Now onward to gumbo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Very good recipe but I had to enter a significant amount of extra liquid to cook the rice. I probably needed to turn the heat lower so be sure to watch the dish as it simmers. Also, I left out the chicken and sasage and substituted shrimp, which I threw into the simmering mix approximately 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
this recipe is pure genius. i scaled it down to two (it still made enough for 3), replaced half the green peppers with purple peppers, and doubled the cayenne pepper to make it spicier. i also cooked the rice separately so it wouldnt turn mushy. it tasted amazing, i will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States