Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Amazingly good. We didn't use chicken, but did use chicken stock at the liquid, and put about a pound of shrimp in at the end. We also added shiracha sauce. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I broke my vegetarian diet to try shrimp jambalaya. I picked this recipe due to its reviews and added 3/4 pound of pre-cooked shrimp in lieu of the chicken and sausage (I also cut the recipe in half). It was good, but not fantastic. I have never had jambalaya before and I expected something a lot thicker and spicier. Then again, perhaps the meats in the original recipe would have yielded more thickness and flavor. Next time I make it, I think I'll use more pre-cooked shrimp, torn up into small pieces to absorb the flavor, as well as adding more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I make this often but I make it in half the time by using a rotisserie chicken, chicken broth and cooked rice. Not only does it take the cooking time down but it also makes certain that all the rice grains are fully cooked. The problem with using uncooked rice is that some of the grains of rice were raw when done. OH and you need to add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Everyone in my household really liked this. This was my first experience cooking cajun type food, although I'd seen Justin Wilson and Emeril do it at least a hundred times... My husband and son want me to add shrimp too the next time I make this. I cooked 4 chicken breasts with the andouille sausage slices in 2 cans of chicken broth. I did not have plain white rice, so I used Jasmine rice, this dish was very forgiving and it worked out great. This is better than my mom's jambalaya. Thanks for a great recipe. Now onward to gumbo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Very good recipe but I had to enter a significant amount of extra liquid to cook the rice. I probably needed to turn the heat lower so be sure to watch the dish as it simmers. Also, I left out the chicken and sasage and substituted shrimp, which I threw into the simmering mix approximately 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
this recipe is pure genius. i scaled it down to two (it still made enough for 3), replaced half the green peppers with purple peppers, and doubled the cayenne pepper to make it spicier. i also cooked the rice separately so it wouldnt turn mushy. it tasted amazing, i will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This recipe is great!! I did make a few changes, but very minor ones, I only used one onion, I cooked my rice separately, used chicken broth instead of the water and spiced it up with Zatarains cajun seasoning after adding the meat. My husband LOVES it and him being from the north east and never have had Jambalaya, I was happy to hear him ask for it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My husband enjoyed this, but it looks like I'm the minority on this one since I thought it was on the bland side. You'll definitely need to adjust the spices and add some salt and pepper. Thyme and hot (spicy) smoked sausage links would probably be a nice addition as well. I would also suggest not boiling the sausage but adding it to the pot later to retain more of it's flavor since you end up not using all of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very nice jambalaya. It was my first ever attempt and it turned out quite nice. I might add a bit more rice/broth next time - very intense with lots of meat and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We've tried this recipe many, many times and really like it. As a matter of fact, many of my friends and neighbors have asked for the recipe after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States