Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
hmm - wasnt impressed with this dish at all. I didnt think the flavor was all that special. Personal Opinion - but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Excellent -- my husband ate this meal for 3 days straight. I sauteed the sausage, then added the veggies to sautee. Then I added chicken breast on the bone. I added chicken broth instead of the water. Will defin. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
What an experience! I loved the recipe...spicy! Gets better the next day too. I didn't have green peppers so i used celery instead. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Great recipe that tolerates forgetting things on a store run or the inability to get certain items (like tomato paste) due to moving out of country. Very easy to spice up or spice down depending on your tastes. All around winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I have made this so many times and it is wonderful!! My husband requests it over and over. A few changes: I add a jalapeno pepper to the sauce, I use boneless skinless chicken breast, polska kielbasa, and shrimp. Also I make the rice seperately and serve the Jambalaya over it. I'm not a big fan of making the rice in the dish for fear it may become to mushy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Really good flavor and consistency. I made this with three modifications. I cooked the rice separately in chicken broth, I seasoned with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper along the way (to shredded chicken, to rice and broth, to sauteeing vegetables), and I used whole canned tomatoes and pulled them all out just before adding the tomato paste since my husband doesn't like to eat cooked tomatoes (that he can see!) I used a "Cajun Andouille" sausage that turned out to be much too hot for me to eat, but my husband and teenage son loved it. I was quite content eating around the sausage because the dish is really delicious. I also cooked the mixture about two times longer than the recipe called for, uncovered the whole time, and kept adding chicken broth. Don't forget to pull out the bay leaves before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I own a small diner that specializes in homecooked meals and I have made this several times for my customers with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J-Shep
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I thought this recipe was outstanding. My boyfriend was wow'ed by it. I used two large chicken breasts, cubed, and simmered them in a small amount of chicken broth. I baked the sausage in the oven for about 20 mins and added both to the spicy vegetables. I cooked the rice (I used long grain brown rice) separately in chicken broth and used about a tablespoon of each of the spicy ingredients in addition to 1 tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Between my boyfriend and I we have lived in Louisiana for 12 years in the heart of Acadiana (Cajun Country). This was NOT jambalaya. It was a very good dish and I will make it again, but I was disappointed by the misleading name. I followed some of the suggestions and cooked the rice separately in the broth from the chicken and sausage. I also added a fresh jalapeno. Thanks for the recipe, but still looking for a true Cajun jambalaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband LOVED this. He ate three bowls tonight alone! I couldn't make it to the store so I made some substitutions and did without some items. I only used one large onion and no bell peppers or tomato paste. I had packs of chicken breast strips (already cooked) from the pack (sometimes used on salads) that I used instead of cooking a whole chicken. I also used smoked turkey sausage since we don't eat pork. I boiled the chicken and turkey and also added a little shrimp for 15-20 minutes. Everything else I did the same except at the end I added a little chicken broth to get the texture I wanted. The amount of seasoning listed in the recipe are perfect if you like just a little spice, but not too much that you have to constantly drink to relieve the spice. I used minute rice on the side as directed on the box and used two cups instead of one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States