Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Really revamped this due to all the negative comments. No shrimp and didn't have tomato paste. Also added small carrots to the mix along with the other veggies, some chicken broth, diced seasoned tomatoes and some more celery. Not too bad, would just call it leftover ham stew. Added the ham the last hour and cooked on high for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I used cheyenne pepper. Used cooked shrimp and added the rice with the shrimp in the last hour on low. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Add a cup of water or broth. Use wild rice instead of white rice, cook it separately, and mix it in when you mix in the shrimp. These simple steps rescue this recipe from the problems reported by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This recipe was O.K. I had to add water to it and the rice turned out a bit mushy, but my husband liked it O.K. I modified the recipe and added a dash of Tabasco, cayenne pepper and a bay leaf so the taste was not bad. I would try this recipe again only I would leave the rice out, cook all day, THEN add cooked rice during the last 45 minutes perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Definitely wallpaper paste once it's cooked in the slow cooker for that long. I wasted $ on buying the stuff to try this recipe and to top it all off, I had my parents over to try it as well. It's a big joke now between all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Jambalaya is a rice dish containing ingredients ranging from chicken and sausage to wild game and seafood. This dish is not a soup. Gumbo is a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Sorry, this recipe turned to complete mush, and I ended up throwing most of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Never use regular rice, never softens up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
My 16 year old son said this was the best thing I had ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
Wish I had read the reviews before I made this! It smelled wonderful but tasted awful.It was very mushy and pasty. We threw most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States