Jambalasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
We love this. I used only 16 oz of linguine but kept the rest of the ingredient amounts the same. It was a new twist on two old favorites, and very tasty. Also very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irishalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
This goes into our recipe line-up for sure. At least according to my grandsons. Anyone who gave this a low rating because of a "bland flavor" either didn't follow the recipe or has some really weak spices. Be aware that cajun blends vary greatly. Mine is by Tones. I also used smoky paprika and skipped the hot sauce because my tomatoes had jalapenos. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I typically do not rate recipes that I do not follow but this recipe is a keeper! I had a kielbasa that I needed to do something with so I thought I would give this recipe a try with the ingredients I had on hand. I used some frozen chicken, onion, pepper mixture that I had in the freezer for lettuce wraps. Also, I used sirracha sauce, oregano, smoked paparika, basil, penne pasta, the kielbasa, garlic powder and added a little pasta sauce to the noodles. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised how this turned out. I will definitely try the recipe again maybe as written next time, but it was definitely a great base recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Made this last night and it was great. Just like some of the other reviewers, I added some orange peppers. Next time I will add some yellow peppers also. My husband lived it and even my lucky daughter said it was good. The both liked it so much that I am going to have to make more for tonight as I had planned on having enough for leftovers. This time though, I think I will try it with brown rice. Great recipe and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Wonderful recipe. Taste great and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Jambalasta Haiku: "The flavor just SLAYED. Just didn't like linguine. Pasta switch next time." Clever name for a delicious dish; we love jambalaya in our house, and this recipe didn't disappoint other than not enjoying having to twirl the linguine and then stabby-stab the chicken, veggies, and sausage. (I used Andouille.) Only other change was to include bell pepper and celery, b/c if I'm not mistaken, most Cajun dishes have the holy trinity? Will definitely hold onto this recipe, but use a different type of pasta, as well as skip the cornstarch step at the end and opt for starting w/ a roux maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this. As written, the seasonings are perfect--no need to change or modify. However, I did add a chopped green pepper and subbed a 28oz can of plain crushed tomatoes for the called for cans of diced tomatoes. I also used a 16oz box of penne pasta instead of linguine. I also chose to simmer the raw shrimp in the finished sauce, then when fully cooked tossed the pasta with the meat sauce. Oh and I never bothered to thicken the sauce. It stuck to and combined with the pasta beautifully. It's a nice change from cajun dishes with cream added. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gib
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have made this twice the Recipe is very good as it is but being from south Louisiana. I had to add our stile of cooking to it. I added. tasso ( a highly season smoke pork) to it, home made smoked deer/pork sausage also some yellow and green bell peppers. used smoked roasted garlic in places of the powder . l have to say my wife and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was delicious! Although I made a few mods - I used rotini pasta instead of linguine. And I used andouille sausage instead of plain ol' keilbasa. I didn't add the hot sauce, with the Cajun seasoning and sausage it was perfectly spicy for us. And so flavorful! I served it to company and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I'm originally from Michigan so I'll call it Jambalasta. I'll also call it very excellent!! Used smoked angus sausage. Left out the salt. That can always be added for those who want it. It doesn't have to be "truly authentic" to Louisiana. The recipe itself says it is a new "spin" on an old recipe. So why not a new name?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States