Jamaican Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very yummy for me and all my kids. I used a whole can of coconut milk instead of 1 cup. I used one can of ro-tell tomatoes instead of the fresh. I also took some other reviewers' advice and added rice, which amounted to about a cup which I put into the pot with the carrots and onion (I added this based on another reviewer). We like spice, so I added a pinch of cayenne which really boosted the flavor as well as a bit of fresh cilantro. This bright green really made the soup look more appetizing. The mozzarella on top worked well with the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Not sure what went wrong. It was way too watery. I did NOT read review before making this and I see a lot of people are suggesting to reduce the water. I saved it as a recipe to try and then my husband picked it by the description and ingredients. Shame on me. I was so disappointed. I may have to try again with less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hall Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elise
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked this recipe. However, like many people have said, the spices were too little, and I had to use more as well. I also think that it could have had more spices in general, as it mostly tasted only of coconut. I did like the lime taste in there though, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious! I made it exactly according to the recipe, and it was wonderful. I was still expecting the Mexican flavor because that's all I've ever had, but this was a great surprise. Can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wow! My whole family loved this and its pretty simple to make. The flavor is extremely unique and is something you dont need to feel bad about craving. I did cut the water in half, added a condensed stock, and a whole can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
this recipe was really good!! i used 6 cups of water instead of 8 and 2 cups of coconut milk. i also used 2 scotch bonnet peppers to give it an authentic island flavor. just remember to SHAKE the can of coconut milk so it wont separate in the soup! overall it was a delicious recipe and i will definitely make it again when it gets cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We really, really liked this one. It tasted like a cross between Mexican lime soup (Sopa de Lima from this site is terrific) and Tom Ka Gai. I made the following adjustments per our tastes: homemade chicken broth, rotisserie chicken, doubled all spices except allspice, used a can + juices of Rotel for the tomatoes, light coconut milk. I used more chicken broth than the recipe calls for, having a total yield of 11.5 cups of soup. In the future I will also add an onion because I can't see any good reason not to. Be free-handed with the lime juice, it's the secret ingredient that makes everything come together. Your soup will only taste as good as your broth does -- so use a brand of bouillon or stock that you know and love! Thanks for sharing your recipe, this was a delicious low-calorie dinner for us tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. I usually halve the water, triple the spices, and double the coconut milk and ginger. I've also added some mushroom, spring onion, sriracha, and sweetcorn with good results. This makes it more like a Thai soup than Jamaican, but good just the same if you like those flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Laralee, yes, this recipe WAS indeed inspired by Rumbi's soup, and the most fantastic Jamaican jerk I had on a trip to the Cayman islands years ago. I'm glad everyone is doubling the spices and reducing the water, as I submitted it a little milder for the feint of heart : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Oh my gosh. Tell me JMJ...is this recipe like the Rumbi Island Grill tortilla soup?? I haven't been near a Rumbi's in over a year and CRAVE that soup. I just noticed that this recipe is extremely similar to the copycat recipe I have (sans cilantro). Living in Utah, I imagine you may know. I'm going to try this in the next week. If it is, you have saved my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States