Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Too much salt! Will leave the salt out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Subbed 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for the allspice. Added an extra potato and an extra tbsp of ginger. Subbed a pinch of chilli flakes for cayenne pepper and added about 4 handfuls of spinach instead of the one cup. Also did not add the peppers and the zucchini. Puréed until smooth. VERY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe lacks flavor and character. It works out to be a warm mix of veggies that doesn't even jive. I ate it cause that's how I do, but will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Fantastic! Pretty much perfect, but I do add a lot more spinach than it calls for. Sometimes I'll add a jalapeno for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Excellent...my family loved this soup, it was so tasty! It will be made again & again, Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very tasty, I forgot the zucchini and it was still delicious. This will become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This soup is a keeper. I added white beans for protein. I will make it again soon to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I liked this a lot--I like healthy recipes. :) I also liked how this depended on spices for flavor rather than salt (healthier! And more interesting...). Unfortunately, when I went to add spinach, I discovered I did not have any. I improvised and threw in some green peas. It was still really good, great flavor, but next time I will make sure to try it with spinach! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We made this soup last night for a Jamaican lunch my daughter's Girl Scout troop is doing today. We made it exactly as written, and it seemed a little bland, so we added a little more salt and cayenne. I know that some soups are much better the next day, so I was hoping this was the case. I heated up a bit a few minutes ago and it was delicious! I do think using fresh ginger is very important to this recipe, and next time (yes, there WILL be a next time!) I will probably use chicken broth rather than vegetable. The key is making it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is such a flavorful, quick soup, I know I will make it often. I was too lazy to make a veg. stock so used chicken stock I had in the freezer. The ginger is subtle but gives a wonderful warmth. My family is never too impressed with zucchini unless it's in a cake but they all loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States